UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

2023 U21 EURO: Georgia and Romania

The tournament is scheduled to be played in Cluj-Napoca, Bucharest, Batumi, Kutaisi and Tbilisi from 21 June to 8 July 2023.

Batumi Arena will stage the final
Batumi Arena will stage the final UEFA

The 2023 UEFA European Under-21 Championship final tournament will be played in Georgia and Romania

Key dates

Finals draw: 18:00 CET, 18 October, Romanian Atheneum, Bucharest
Final tournament: 21 June to 8 July 2023, Georgia & Romania

The tournament is due to be staged at four stadiums in Romania (two in Cluj-Napoca and two in Bucharest) and four stadiums in Georgia (one each in Batumi and Kutaisi, and two in Tbilisi). The opening match will take place in Romania and the final will be held at Batumi Arena in Georgia.

Romania previously hosted the 1998 U21 finals in Bucharest, which was one of the venues for UEFA EURO 2020 and staged the 2012 UEFA Europa League final. Romania also held the U19 EURO in 2011 and is due to do so again in 2025.

Georgia hosted the 2017 U19 EURO while the 2015 UEFA Super Cup was played in Tbilisi (at the Boris Paichadze Stadium), as were the 2013 UEFA Futsal Cup finals.

Both 2023 hosts were automatically assured of finals spots. Ten more teams clinched places in the qualifying group stage that ran from March 2021 to June 2022, and the remaining four came through the play-offs on 23 and 27 September.


Belgium, Croatia, Czechia, England, France, Georgia (hosts), Germany (holders), Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania (hosts), Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine

The 16 qualified teams will be drawn into four groups of four for the final tournament, with the four winners and four runners-up in each section reaching the quarter-finals. There will be a standard knockout format from there.

Top five goals: 2021 U21 EURO


Batumi, Batumi Arena: 3 Group C games, Semi-final, Final
Kutaisi, Ramaz Shengelia Stadium: 3 Group C games, Quarter-final
Tbilisi, Mikheil Meskhi Stadium: 3 Group A games, Quarter-final
Tbilisi, Boris Paichadze Stadium: 3 Group A games (involving Georgia)

Bucharest, Giulești Stadium: 3 Group B games, Quarter-final
Bucharest, Steaua Stadium: 3 Group B games (involving Romania), Semi-final
Cluj-Napoca, CFR Cluj Stadium 3 Group D games
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj Arena: 3 Group D games, Quarter-final

Provisional schedule

Group A/Group B: 21, 24, 27 June
Group C/Group D: 22, 25, 28 June
Quarter-finals: 1 & 2 July
Semi-finals: 5 July
Final: 8 July

Knockout bracket

Quarter-final 1: Winner Group A vs Runner-up Group C (1 July, Mikheil Meskhi Stadium, Tbilisi)
Quarter-final 2: Winner Group C vs Runner-up Group A (2 July, Ramaz Shengelia Stadium, Kutaisi)
Quarter-final 3: Winner Group B vs Runner-up Group D (1 July, Giulești Stadium, Bucharest)
Quarter-final 4: Winner Group D vs Runner-up Group B (2 July, Cluj Arena, Cluj-Napoca)

Semi-final 1: Winner Quarter-final 1 vs Winner Quarter-final 2 (5 July, Batumi Arena, Batumi)
Semi-final 2: Winner Quarter-final 3 vs Winner Quarter-final 4 (5 July, Steaua Stadium, Bucharest)

Final: Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2 (8 July, Batumi Arena, Batumi)

2024 Olympic men's football tournament

Europe has three slots in the 2024 Olympic men's football tournament, not counting hosts France, who automatically qualify. The top three finishers in the U21 finals (other than France, and England, who cannot qualify for the Olympics) will take part in the tournament. If needed, a play-off will take place in Bucharest.

Previous U21 finals hosts

16 teams
: Hungary & Slovenia
12 teams
: Italy
2017: Poland
8 teams
2015: Czech Republic
2013: Israel
2011: Denmark
2009: Sweden
2007: Netherlands
2006: Portugal
2004: Germany
2002: Switzerland
2000: Slovakia
1998: Romania
1996: Spain
1994: France

Past finals

See the goal that gave Germany 2021 glory

UEFA European Under-21 Championship
: Germany 1-0 Portugal
2019: Spain 2-1 Germany
2017: Germany 1-0 Spain
2015: Sweden 0-0, 4-3p Portugal
2013: Spain 4-2 Italy
2011: Spain 2-0 Switzerland
2009: Germany 4-0 England
2007: Netherlands 4-1 Serbia
2006: Netherlands 3-0 Ukraine
2004: Italy 4-0 Serbia and Montenegro
2002: Czech Republic 0-0, 3-1p France
2000: Italy 2-1 Czech Republic
1998: Spain 1-0 Greece
1996: Italy 1-1, 4-2p Spain
1994: Italy 1-0aet Portugal
1992: Italy 2-1agg Sweden
1990: Soviet Union 7-3agg Yugoslavia
1988: France 3-0agg Greece
1986: Spain 3-3agg, 3-0p Italy
1984: England 3-0agg Spain
1982: England 5-4agg West Germany
1980: Soviet Union 1-0agg East Germany
1978: Yugoslavia 5-4agg East Germany
UEFA European Under-23 Championship
1976: Soviet Union 3-2agg Hungary
1974: Hungary 6-3agg East Germany
1972: Czechoslovakia 5-3agg Soviet Union