UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Regions' Cup format

The guide to Europe's amateur championship.

The UEFA Regions' Cup trophy
The UEFA Regions' Cup trophy ©UEFA.com

The biennial UEFA Regions' Cup final tournament has been held since 1999, with the host nation picked from the eight qualifiers.

Each UEFA member nation is allowed to enter one representative amateur team, with clubs having to win a domestic amateur competition to qualify. Those too small to hold one contest the preliminary round, consisting of a small number of teams split into groups, with qualified sides entering the intermediate round. In the second stage the teams are placed into eight groups, with the winners making up the lineup for the finals.

The final tournament hosts are selected from the eight qualifiers, who are divided into two groups of four. The section winners progress to the one-off final.

The regulations for the UEFA Regions' Cup are initially drawn up by the UEFA Administration before being submitted to the UEFA National Team Competitions Committee. They are then forwarded upon that committee's approval to the UEFA Executive Committee for ratification.

Players are eligible for the UEFA Regions' Cup if they are between 19 and 39 on the date of their first appearance in the competition.