UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Württemberg Amateur team guide

uefa.com's lowdown on the UEFA Regions' Cup's home team - Württemberg.

Country: Germany

How they reached the finals:
Having won their qualifying group in Lithuania, Württemberg Amateur will contest the UEFA Regions' Cup on home territory, with their local association having been chosen to host the finals. It was just reward for an excellent qualifying round campaign which saw them win all three of their Group 6 games, scoring ten goals and conceding just one.

New coach
It all began at the Suduva stadium in Marijampole on 21 September 2002 when a sixth-minute goal from midfield player Panagiotis Deligiannidis gave Herbert Göpferich's side a 1-0 win against Poland's Malopolska amateur. It was Göpferich's final game in charge as he gave way to current coach Wolfgang Kopp.

Big win
Warming to their task, the German side then inflicted a 5-1 defeat upon group hosts Taurage Amateur two days later. Striker Andreas Gärtner scored twice in the first 23 minutes either side of a Dapkus strike for Taurage, before Deligiannidis scored his second goal of the campaign a minute before half-time from the penalty spot.

Fourth goal
There was still time for Alexander Raaf to add a fourth goal before the break, but there was little let-up for the Lithuanian side in the second half. The German side were awarded a second penalty after 61 minutes and Thomas Peschel stepped up to convert it and complete the scoring.

No mercy
Belarus' Brest Amateur found Kopp's men in similarly ungenerous mood in their final group game. Raaf gave Württemberg a 17th-minute lead and Marco Mangold added a second barely two minutes later. Daniel Berggötz scored another goal after 64 minutes for the German side and within a minute it was 4-0 as Nico Schuska rounded off the scoring.

Cup favourites
With home advantage during the final tournament, the German side are still many observers' favourites to win the competition.

Top scorers:
Panagiotis Deligiannidis (2)
Andreas Gärtner (2)
Alexander Raaf (2)

Selected for you