UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Braga discover Regions' Cup fate

Braga, runners-up in 2001, will have to overcome teams from the Czech Republic, Ukraine and Germany if they are to go one better at next month's finals following Wednesday's draw.

Eusébio and Jim Boyce conduct the UEFA Regions' Cup draw
Eusébio and Jim Boyce conduct the UEFA Regions' Cup draw ©UEFA.com

Hosts Braga will play representatives from the Czech Republic, Ukraine and Germany in Group A of the seventh UEFA Regions' Cup finals following the draw in the northern Portuguese city this evening.

The draw − which produced two groups of four − at the Colunata de Eventos was overseen by Jim Boyce, first vice-chairman of the UEFA Youth and Amateur Committee, and conducted by Portuguese footballing hero Eusébio, who told UEFA.com: "I'm very proud and happy to have the chance to participate in such an important event.

"These players will have the same dream I had many years ago: to become a successful footballer. I'm looking forward to the tournament and I'm sure it will be a huge hit among the fans."

Europe's leading amateur tournament will be held in the Minho region from 21 to 28 June. The hosts were seeded in position A1 in Group A, while the rest of the qualifiers were drawn freely.

Braga, losing finalists in 2001, will take on Zlín Region, Ukraine's Yednyst Plysky and German contenders Württembergischer FV, who also have previous Regions' Cup pedigree, having hosted the 2003 finals, where they bowed out in the group stage.

Group B consists of South Region Russia, Serbia's Belgrade − who had the most unusual path to the finals as they won their intermediary round group by the drawing of lots − Turkey's first qualifiers Ankara and Ireland's Leinster & Munster.

Group A: Braga (POR), Zlín Region (CZE), Yednyst Plysky (UKR), Württembergischer FV (GER).

Group B: South Region Russia (RUS), Belgrade (SRB), Ankara (TUR), Leinster & Munster (IRL).

The finals kick-off on 21 June at the Estádio 1º Maio in Braga, where the hosts meet Zlín Region. Each team plays the other three sides in their group once, with the section winners meeting in the final on 28 June at Estádio Cidade de Barcelos.