Liverpool - Atlético: TV, Stream, Aufstellungen & Stimmen

Die wichtigsten Infos vor dem zweiten Duell zwischen Liverpool und Atlético im Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League.

Jürgen Klopp bei der Pressekonferenz vor dem Rückspiel
Jürgen Klopp bei der Pressekonferenz vor dem Rückspiel Liverpool FC via Getty Images

Am 11. März um 21 Uhr MEZ kommt es zum Rückspiel der UEFA Champions League zwischen Liverpool und Atlético. Diese Seite wird bis zum Anpfiff regelmäßig mit Team-News, Stimmen und Einschätzungen aktualisiert.

LIVE-BLOG: LIVERPOOL - ATLÉTICO


Wo wird das Spiel übertragen?

Hier geht es zu den regionalen Übertragungspartnern der UEFA Champions League.

Wie lief das Hinspiel? 

Highlights: Atlético - Liverpool 1:0
Highlights: Atlético - Liverpool 1:0

Liverpool, Titelverteidiger der Königsklasse und mit großem Abstand Spitzenreiter der Premier League, musste in Madrid die dritte Saisonpleite hinnehmen. Atlético ging schon in der vierten Minute durch Saúl Ñíguez in Führung und machte der Elf von Jürgen Klopp anschließend das Leben extrem schwer. Gegen die aufopfernd verteidigenden Spanier kamen die Reds kaum zu Chancen.

Mögliche Aufstellungen

Liverpool: Adrián - Alexander-Arnold, Gomez, van Dijk, Robertson - Henderson, Fabinho, Wijnaldum - Salah, Firmino, Mané
Es fehlen: Alisson Becker (Hüfte), Clyne (Knie), Shaqiri (Wade)
Gelbsperre droht: Gomez, Mané, Robertson

Atlético: Oblak - Trippier, Savić, Felipe, Renan Lodi - Saúl Ñíguez, Partey, Koke, João Félix - Correa, Morata
Fraglich: Lemar (Oberschenkel), Morata (Oberschenkel)
Gelbsperre droht: Correa

Aktuelles

Liverpool
Formkurve: SNNSN (alle Pflichtspiele, aktuellstes Ergebnis zuerst)
Letztes Spiel: Liverpool - Bournemouth 2:1, 07.03.
Laufende Wettbewerbe: 1. der Premier League

Atlético
Formkurve: UUSSU
Letztes Spiel: Atlético - Sevilla 2:2, 07.03.
Laufende Wettbewerbe: 5. in der Liga

Reporter-Einschätzungen

Matthew Howarth, Liverpool-Reporter: Wie schon am Samstag in der Premier League gegen Bournemouth muss Jürgen Klopps Team einen kühlen Kopf bewahren, um eine Niederlage gegen das kompromisslose, gewiefte Atletico umzudrehen. Dass es kein Auswärtstor gibt, macht das ganze nicht leichter, aber die Atmosphäre in Anfield plus die wahrscheinliche Rückkehr von Kapitän Jordan Henderson könnte das Zünglein an der Waage sein.

Joseph Walker, Atlético-Reporter: Anfield wird trotz der Führung ein schwieriges Pflaster für Atleti, aber wenn eine Mannschaft dieser Atmosphäre trotzen kann, dann ist es die widerspenstige Truppe von Diego Simeone. Die Reds sollten sich vor Kontern hüten, denn genau auf diese werden die Spanier lauern.

Trainerstimmen

Jürgen Klopp, Liverpool: "Es ist Halbzeit - das ist die beste Nachricht. Für uns, Halbzeit in einem normalen Spiel, die wir ziemlich gut nutzen. Wir lernen aus der ersten Halbzeit, wir zeigen den Jungs ein paar Situationen, und sehr oft machen wir es dann besser. Wir hatten drei Wochen. Viele Dinge sind jetzt viel klarer als vorher. Wir müssen zeigen, dass wir unsere Lehren aus dem ersten Spiel gezogen haben, und dass wir unbedingt weiterkommen wollen."

Diego Simeone, Atlético: "Wir werden hin und wieder leiden müssen, aber wir werden auch unsere Chancen bekommen. Wenn man die letzten acht Jahre betrachtet, kann man erkennen, zu was wir imstande sind. Wir treffen auf ein großartiges Team, das sich prächtig entwickelt hat, seit Jürgen Klopp übernommen hat. Ich war noch nie Anfield, weder als Trainer noch als Spieler. Ich hatte noch nie die Chance, in solch einem herrlichen Stadion zu spielen, der Heimat eines Teams mit solch einer Historie."

Bisherige Begegnungen

• Das Hinspiel war das erste Duell der beiden Mannschaften seit dem Halbfinale in der UEFA Europa League 2009/10. Damals gewann Atlético aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel nach einem 1:0-Hinspielsieg in Spanien und einem 2:1 für Liverpool nach Verlängerung. Diego Forlán erzielte damals im Hinspiel das Goldene Tor. In Liverpool traf Alberto Aquilani für die Reds. In der Verlängerung schoss Yossi Benayoun Liverpool scheinbar ins Finale, doch Forlán gelang in der 112. Minute der entscheidende Treffer zum 1:2, der die Spanier ins Finale katapultierte.

2010: Atlético bezwingt Liverpool
2010: Atlético bezwingt Liverpool

• Dort schlug Atlético mit Fulham erneut ein Team von der Insel, beim Finale in Hamburg war Forlán mit zwei Toren wieder der Matchwinner.

• Erstmals waren beide Teams 2008/09 in der UEFA Champions League aufeinander getroffen. In der Gruppenphase endeten beide Spiele 1:1. Simão traf im Vicente Calderón in der 83. Minute, nachdem Robbie Keane Liverpool in der 14. Minute in Führung gebracht hatte. In Anfield rettete Steven Gerrard den Reds mit einem Elfmeter in der fünften Minute der Nachspielzeit einen Punkt, nachdem Maxi Rodríguez die Gäste in der 37. Minute in Führung gebracht hatte.

• Liverpool gewann die Gruppe mit 14 Punkten und schied im Viertelfinale gegen Chelsea aus. Atlético wurde mit 12 Punkten Zweiter und scheiterte im Achtelfinale an Porto.

Hintergrund

Liverpool
• Liverpool gewann die Gruppe E mit 13 Punkten, einen Zähler vor Napoli, gegen das man am ersten Spieltag mit 0:2 den Kürzeren gezogen hatte. Die nächsten drei Spiele beendeten die Reds siegreich: gegen Salzburg (4:3) und Genk (4:1 und 2:1), ehe man zuhause gegen Napoli nur 1:1 spielte. Das Achtelfinal-Ticket und den Gruppensieg buchte man am 6. Spieltag mit einem 2:0 in Salzburg.

• Liverpool hat seine letzten elf K.o.-Runden-Duelle (inklusive Qualifikation) gewonnen. Die letzte Niederlage gab es 2014/15 in der Runde der letzten 32 der UEFA Europa League im Elfmeterschießen gegen Beşiktaş. In der UEFA Champions League liegt das letzte Ausscheiden in der K.o.-Runde noch weiter zurück, 2008/09 scheiterte man mit insgesamt 5:7 an Chelsea.

 Salah-Höhepunkte für Liverpool
Salah-Höhepunkte für Liverpool

• In den letzten vier Duellen mit spanischen Mannschaften setzte sich Liverpool vier Mal durch, die Gesamtbilanz liegt bei neun Siegen und zwei Niederlagen.

• Die Hinspiel-Niederlage bei Atlético bedeutet, dass Liverpool von den vergangenen elf Spielen gegen spanische Klubs nur zwei gewonnen hat (zwei Remis, sieben Niederlagen). Zu den Niederlagen zählen auch die 1:3-Pleiten unter Klopp im Finale der UEFA Europa League 2016 gegen Sevilla und im Finale der UEFA Champions League 2018 gegen Real Madrid.

• Das Team von der Merseyside hat nur sechs von insgesamt 18 Spielen gegen spanische Mannschaften in Anfield gewonnen (sieben Unentschieden, fünf Niederlagen). Vier der letzten sechs Heimspiele haben die Reds aber gewonnen.

• Liverpool hat neun der letzten 13 Spiele in Europa gewonnen (zwei Remis, zwei Niederlagen).

• Der englische Vizemeister der Saison 2018/19 steht zum dritten Mal in Folge und zum achten Mal insgesamt im Achtelfinale. Sechs Mal erreichten die Reds das Viertelfinale, nur 2005/06 scheiterte man als Titelverteidiger an Benfica.

• Nach acht Spielen ohne Niederlage im Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League (sechs Siege, zwei Remis) verloren die Reds erstmals wieder; vor dem Gegentor bei den Bayern in der vergangenen Saison waren sie siebenmal im Achtelfinale ohne Gegentor geblieben. Vor der 0:1-Niederlage bei Atlético im Hinspiel hatten sie zuletzt im Rückspiel 2006/07 zu Hause gegen Barcelona mit 0:1 verloren. Dieses Duell gewannen sie dennoch aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel, weil sie in Spanien mit 2:1 triumphiert hatten.

• Liverpool ist seit 25 Heimspielen im europäischen Wettbewerb ungeschlagen (18 Siege, sieben Remis). Seit einem 0:3 gegen Real Madrid am 22. Oktober 2014 haben die Reds an der Anfield Road nicht mehr verloren.

• Die Reds kassierten in den drei K.-o.-Heimspielen der vergangenen Saison keinen einzigen Gegentreffer. In der Saison 2017/18 konnten sie in zwei von drei Heimspielen eine Weiße Weste bewahren.

• Liverpool schwimmt auch in dieser Saison auf einer Erfolgswelle, mit einem Sieg nach Elfmeterschießen gegen Chelsea (5:4 im Elfmeterschießen, 2:2) gewann man schon den UEFA-Superpokal, und im Dezember mit einem 1:0 n.V. gegen Flamengo die FIFA-Klubweltmeisterschaft.

• Liverpool hat 14 von 28 Duelle in UEFA-Wettbewerben gewonnen, wenn das Hinspiel auswärts verloren ging. Dazu zählt auch der Erfolg gegen Barcelona in der vergangenen Saison. Wenn die Reds das Hinspiel auswärts mit 0:1 verloren haben, kamen sie in neun von zwölf Fällen noch weiter. Zuletzt war dies im Halbfinale der UEFA Europa League 2015/16 gegen Villarreal (3:0 zu Hause) der Fall. Von den vergangenen sechs Duellen, in denen die Reds das Hinspiel auswärts 0:1 verloren hatten, verloren sie drei.

• Liverpools Bilanz in fünf Elfmeterschießen bei UEFA-Wettbewerben lautet 4:1:
4:2 gegen Roma, Finale im Pokal der europäischen Meistervereine 1983/84
3:2 gegen AC Milan, Finale der Champions League 2004/05
4:1 gegen Chelsea, Halbfinale der Champions League 2006/07
4:5 gegen Beşiktaş, Runde der letzten 32 in der Europa League 2014/15
5:4 gegen Chelsea, UEFA-Superpokal 2019

Atlético
• Atlético beendete die Gruppenphase mit zehn Punkten, sechs Zähler hinter Juventus. Nach einem 2:2 gegen Juve gewannen die Spanier mit 2:0 bei Lokomotiv Moskva und mit 1:0 gegen Bayer Leverkusen. Doch in Leverkusen setzte es eine 1:2-Niederlage und in Turin gab es ein 0:1; erst der 2:0-Erfolg gegen Lokomotiv sicherte im Fernduell mit Bayer den zweiten Platz.

Die besten Szenen von Renan Lodi
Die besten Szenen von Renan Lodi

• Der spanische Vizemeister der Saison 2018/19 nimmt zum zehnten Mal an der UEFA Champions League teil und steht zum achten Mal in der K.o.-Runde.

• Atleti beendete auch die Saiso 2018/19 als Gruppenzweiter und scheiterte anschließend im Achtelfinale an Juventus (2:0 zu Hause, 0:3 auswärts).

• Die Spanier haben vier ihrer bisherigen sechs Achtelfinal-Duelle gewonnen. Nur das erste – aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel gegen Porto 2008/09 – und das letzte gingen verloren. Der bis dato letzte Triumph im Achtelfinale datiert aus der Saison 2016/17, als die Madrilenen Leverkusen schlugen (4:2 auswärts, 0:0 zu Hause).

• Atlético gewann nur eins der letzten neun Auswärtsspiele in den K.-o.-Runden der UEFA Champions League (zwei Remis, sechs Niederlagen).

• Atlético hat fünf der vergangenen 14 Auswärtsspiele in Europa verloren – und vier gewonnen. Vier dieser fünf Niederlagen haben sie in den letzten sechs Spielen kassiert (ein Sieg, ein Unentschieden).

• Trotz der Niederlagen am vierten und fünften Spieltag in dieser Saison hat Atlético nur fünf der letzten 29 Spiele in den kontinentalen Wettbewerben verloren (18 Siege, sechs Remis).

• Atléticos letzte Begegnung mit einem englischen Gegner vor dem Duell mit Liverpool war die mit Arsenal in der UEFA Europa League 2017/18. Damals gewannen sie mit 2:1 (1:1 auswärts, 1:0 zu Hause) gegen die Gunners. Insgesamt hat Atléti acht seiner zehn K.o.-Runden-Duelle mit Teams aus England für sich entschieden, darunter die letzten vier; ausgeschieden ist man nur gegen Derby County (1974/75, UEFA-Pokal) und gegen die Bolton Wanderers (2007/08, UEFA-Pokal). Außerdem haben die Madrilenen sämtliche sechs Duelle gegen englische Mannschaften für sich entschieden, wenn sie das Hinspiel zu Hause bestritten haben.

• Atlético hat nur zwei von bislang 13 Auswärtsspielen in England gewonnen und vier verloren. Die vergangenen drei Gastspiele in England endeten jeweils 1:1. Seit insgesamt vier Auswärtsspielen in England sind die Madrilenen ungeschlagen.

• In den letzten zehn Jahren standen die Rojiblancos zweimal im Finale der UEFA Champions League und dreimal im Endspiel der UEFA Europa League.

• Wenn Atlético das Hinspiel zu Hause gewonnen hat, sind die Spanier in 30 von 38 Fällen in die nächste Runde eingezogen. Das Duell mit Juventus in der vergangenen Saison bildete eine Ausnahme. Davor waren sie 19 Mal weitergekommen, wenn sie das Hinspiel zu Hause gewonnen haben. Nach einem 1:0-Heimsieg im Hinspiel kam Atlético achtmal weiter, dreimal scheiterten die Spanier noch. Zuletzt aber erreichten sie fünfmal in Folge die nächsre Runde nach einem 1:0-Hinspielsieg zu Hause. Das bis dato jüngste Beispiel ist das Viertelfinale gegen Leicester in der Saison 2016/17 (1:1 auswärts). In allen drei Duellen gegen englische Teams ist Atlético nach einem 1:0-Heimsieg im Hinspiel weitergekommen.

• Atléticos Bialnz in sechs Elfmeterschießen bei UEFA-Wettbewerben lautet 2:4:
6:7 gegen Derby, Zweite Runde des UEFA-Pokals 1974/75
1:3 gegen Fiorentina, Erste Runde des UEFA-Pokals 1989/90
1:3 gegen Villarreal, Finale des UEFA Intertoto Cup 2004
3:2 gegen Bayer Leverkusen, Achtelfinale der UEFA Champions League 2014/15
8:7 gegen PSV Eindhoven, Achtelinale der UEFA Champions League 2015/16
3:5 gegen Real Madrid, Finale der UEFA Champions League 2015/16

Verschiedenes

• Haben in England gespielt:
Kieran Trippier (Manchester City 1999–2011, Barnsley 2010–11 (Leihe), Burnley 2011–15, Tottenham 2015–19)
Stefan Savić (Manchester City 2011–12)
Álvaro Morata (Chelsea 2017–18)
Diego Costa (Chelsea 2014–17)

Diego Costa war in England für Chelsea aktiv
Diego Costa war in England für Chelsea aktivIcon Sport via Getty Images

• Trippier spielte 90 Minuten, als die Spurs im Finale der letztjährigen UEFA Champions League in Atléticos Estadio Metropolitano Liverpool mit 0:2 unterlagen.

• Haben in Spanien gespielt:
Fabinho (Real Madrid 2012/13)
Adrián (Real Betis 1998–2013, Alcalá 2008 (Leihe), Utrera 2009 (Leihe)

• Haben zusammen in einem Team gespielt:
James Milner & Stefan Savić (Manchester City 2011–12)
Fabinho & Thomas Lemar (Monaco 2015–18)

• Teamkollegen in der Nationalelf:
Jordan Henderson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joe Gomez, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Adam Lallana & Kieran Trippier (England)
Alisson Becker, Roberto Firmino, Fabinho & Renan Lodi (Brasilien)
Dejan Lovren & Šime Vrsaljko (Kroatien)
Divock Origi & Yannick Carrasco (Belgien)

Oben

Liverpool vs Atlético Champions League preview: where to watch, predicted line-ups, team news

Liverpool welcome Atlético in their UEFA Champions League round of 16 decider – all you need to know.

Mohamed Salah in training on Tuesday
Mohamed Salah in training on Tuesday Liverpool FC via Getty Images

Liverpool welcome Atlético in the UEFA Champions League round of 16 on 11 March at 21:00 CET. This page will update with team news, quotes and expert analysis as kick-off approaches.

LIVERPOOL VS ATLÉTICO BUILD-UP


Where to watch the game on TV

Fans can find their local UEFA Champions League broadcast partner(s) here.

What happened in the first leg?

Highlights: Atlético 1-0 Liverpool
Highlights: Atlético 1-0 Liverpool

Liverpool, holders and runaway Premier League leaders, suffered just their third defeat in all competitions this season. Diego Simeone's men put in a display of trademark resilience once Saúl Ñíguez had given them a fourth-minute lead.

Possible line-ups

Liverpool: Adrián; Alexander-Arnold, Gomez, Van Dijk, Robertson; Henderson, Fabinho, Wijnaldum; Salah, Firmino, Mané
Out: Alisson Becker (hip), Shaqiri (calf), Clyne (knee)
Misses next game if booked: Gomez, Mané, Robertson

Atlético: Oblak; Trippier, Savić, Felipe, Renan Lodi; Saúl Ñíguez, Partey, Koke, Vitolo; João Félix, Correa
Doubtful: Lemar (thigh), Morata (thigh)
Misses next game if booked: Correa

Latest results

Liverpool
Form: WLLWL (all competitions, most recent first)
Latest: Liverpool 2-1 Bournemouth, 07/03
Where they stand: 1st in Premier League

Jordan Henderson is in line for a timely return to action
Jordan Henderson is in line for a timely return to actionGetty Images

Atlético
Form: DDWWD
Latest: Atlético 2-2 Sevilla, 07/03
Where they stand: 5th in Liga

Expert predictions

Matthew Howarth, Liverpool reporter: As was the case against Bournemouth in the Premier League on Saturday, Jürgen Klopp's team will need cool heads to overturn their deficit against an uncompromising, streetwise Atleti side. The lack of an away goal makes this a difficult hurdle to surmount, but a raucous Anfield – coupled with the likely return of captain Jordan Henderson from injury – might just tip the balance in the Reds' favour.

Joseph Walker, Atlético reporter: Anfield is perhaps the most formidable away trip in Europe right now, but if you would back any side to stifle and frustrate Liverpool, then it is this Atleti outfit. They will need to be at their gritty, cunning and conniving best if they are to keep Liverpool at bay, but holding the advantage from the first leg, you would not bet against them hitting the Reds on the counter and sealing their place in the last eight.

What the coaches say

Jürgen Klopp, Liverpool manager: "It's half time – that’s the best news. For us, half-time in a normal game we use in a pretty good way. We learn from the first half, we show the boys a few situations, and very often we improve. We have had three weeks. A lot of things are now much clearer than they were before. We have to show that we have learned from the first half, from the first game, and to show that we really want to go through. There are a lot of opportunities for us – but against a quality team, they will be difficult to find."

Atleti coach Diego Simeone is looking forward to his first match at Anfield
Atleti coach Diego Simeone is looking forward to his first match at AnfieldGetty Images

Diego Simeone, Atlético coach: "We'll need to suffer at certain moments, but we'll get our chances too. You've seen over the past eight years what we can do, and we'll need to show what we are capable of. We'll be up against a great side who have demonstrated what they're all about ever since Jürgen Klopp took over. I've never been to Anfield, as a coach or as a player. I’ve never had the chance to play in such a magnificent stadium, home to a side with such history."

Previous meetings

• The first leg was the teams' first fixture since the 2009/10 UEFA Europa League semi-finals, a tie Atlético won on away goals after a 2-2 aggregate draw thanks to a 1-0 first-leg win in Spain. Diego Forlán got the only goal of the first game, Alberto Aquilani levelling the tie a minute before half-time in Liverpool. With no further goals the match went to extra time, Yossi Benayoun putting Liverpool in front on aggregate in the 95th minute only for Forlán to supply the decisive moment seven minutes later.

Atlético edge Liverpool in 2010 Europa League
Atlético edge Liverpool in 2010 Europa League

• Atlético went on to beat another English club, Fulham, in the final in Hamburg, Forlán getting both goals in a 2-1 win.

• The sides met for the first time in the 2008/09 UEFA Champions League group stage with both games ending 1-1, Simão scoring in the 83rd minute at the Vicente Calderón after Robbie Keane had given Liverpool a 14th-minute lead. At Anfield, a Steven Gerrard penalty five minutes into added time earned the home side a point, Maxi Rodríguez having put Atlético in front in the 37th minute.

• Liverpool went on to top Group D with 14 points and Atlético finished as runners-up on 12. Los Rojiblancos were knocked out by Porto on away goals in the last 16, while the Reds lost to Chelsea in the quarter-finals.

Form guide

Liverpool
• Liverpool won Group E with 13 points, one ahead of Napoli who were 2-0 victors against the holders on Matchday 1. The Reds won their next three matches, at home against Salzburg (4-3) and away (4-1) and home (2-1) against Genk, before being held 1-1 by Napoli at Anfield on Matchday 5. A 2-0 success at Salzburg in their final fixture proved enough to secure progress in first place.

• Last season, Jürgen Klopp's team beat Bayern München 3-1 away in the second leg of their round of 16 tie, going through by the same aggregate score, before ousting Porto 6-1 over two legs in the quarter-finals (2-0 h, 4-1 a). The journey looked to be over when the Reds went down 3-0 at Barcelona in the semi-final first leg, but two goals apiece from Georginio Wijnaldum and Divock Origi sealed a rousing second-leg turnaround, before Mohamed Salah and Origi secured the club's sixth European Cup with a 2-0 final defeat of Tottenham at the Estadio Metropolitano in Madrid – Atlético's home ground.

Watch Salah in action for Liverpool
Watch Salah in action for Liverpool

• Those results mean Liverpool have won their last 11 two-legged European ties, qualifying included. Their last defeat was on penalties in the 2014/15 UEFA Europa League round of 32 against Beşiktaş (1-0 home, 0-1 away). They have not lost a knockout phase tie in the UEFA Champions League since Chelsea beat them 7-5 on aggregate in the 2008/09 quarter-finals.

• The remarkable comeback win against Barcelona in 2018/19 made it four wins out of four against Spanish clubs in two-legged European Cup knockout ties for Liverpool, whose overall aggregate record in knockout ties with Liga sides is W9 L2.

• The first-leg defeat at Atlético means Liverpool have won only two of their last 11 fixtures against Spanish clubs (D2 L7) – a sequence that also includes 3-1 losses under Klopp in the 2016 UEFA Europa League final to Sevilla and the 2018 UEFA Champions League final to Real Madrid.

• The Merseysiders have won only six of their 18 games against Spanish visitors at Anfield (D7 L5), although they have been victorious in four of the last six.

• Liverpool have won nine of their last 13 European fixtures (D2 L2).

• Premier League runners-up in 2018/19, this is Liverpool's third successive appearance in the round of 16 and eighth overall; their record is W6 L1. The sole defeat came against Benfica as holders in 2005/06.

• Defeat at Atlético ended the Reds' eight-match unbeaten run in the UEFA Champions League round of 16 (W6 D2); they had kept seven consecutive clean sheets before conceding at Bayern last season. Their previous defeat was a 1-0 loss at home to Barcelona in the 2006/07 second leg; they won that tie on away goals having triumphed 2-1 in Spain.

• Liverpool are unbeaten in 25 European home games (W18 D7), since a 3-0 loss to Real Madrid on 22 October 2014.

• The Reds kept clean sheets in all three home knockout games last season and two of their three in 2017/18.

• Liverpool have already claimed European silverware this term, beating Chelsea 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw in the UEFA Super Cup in Istanbul. They also won the FIFA Club World Cup in December, overcoming Flamengo 1-0 after extra time in the final.

• Liverpool have won 14 of the 28 UEFA competition ties in which they lost the away first leg, including that success against Barcelona last season. They have emerged triumphant from nine of the 12 ties in which they lost the first leg 1-0 away, most recently against Villarreal in the 2015/16 UEFA Europa League semi-finals (3-0 h), although all three aggregate defeats the Reds have suffered when losing 1-0 away in the first game have come in the last six such ties.

• Liverpool's record in five UEFA penalty shoot-outs is W4 L1:
4-2 v Roma, 1983/84 European Champion Clubs' Cup final
3-2 v AC Milan, 2004/05 UEFA Champions League final
4-1 v Chelsea, 2006/07 UEFA Champions League semi-final
4-5 v Beşiktaş, 2014/15 UEFA Europa League round of 32
5-4 v Chelsea, 2019 UEFA Super Cup

Atlético
• Atlético finished with ten points in this season's group stage, six behind Juventus. Having fought back from two goals down to draw with Juve on Matchday 1, Atlético then won 2-0 at Lokomotiv Moskva and 1-0 at home to Bayer Leverkusen only to lose 2-1 in Germany and 1-0 at Juve; a 2-0 defeat of Lokomotiv in Madrid on Matchday 6 nevertheless earned second place.

Watch Atlético man of the match Renan Lodi's highlights
Watch Atlético man of the match Renan Lodi's highlights

• Second in Spain in 2018/19, this is Atlético's tenth UEFA Champions League campaign and their eighth appearance in the knockout stages.

• Atleti also finished second in their section in 2018/19 and bowed out in the round of 16 after succumbing to a Juventus fightback (2-0 h, 0-3 a).

• The Spanish side have still won four of their six round of 16 ties, losing only the first – on away goals against Porto in 2008/09 – and the last. Their most recent win was a 4-2 aggregate defeat of Leverkusen in 2016/17 (4-2 a, 0-0 h).

• Last season's 3-0 second-leg loss at Juventus means Atlético have won only one of their last nine away matches in the UEFA Champions League knockout rounds (D2 L6).

• Atlético have lost five of their last 14 European away games, winning four, although four of those defeats have come in their last six matches (W1 D1).

• Despite defeats on Matchdays 4 and 5 this season, Atlético have lost only five of their last 29 matches in continental competition (W18 D6).

• Atlético's last meetings with an English club came in the 2017/18 UEFA Europa League semi-final, when they beat Arsenal 2-1 on aggregate (1-1 a, 1-0 h). They have been victorious in eight of their ten two-legged knockout contests against English teams, including the last four; only Derby County (1974/75 UEFA Cup) and Bolton Wanderers (2007/08 UEFA Cup) have eliminated them. Atlético have won all six previous ties in which they hosted English opposition in the first leg.

• Atlético have won just twice in 13 away games against English clubs, losing four times. The Madrid side have drawn 1-1 on each of their last three visits to England and are unbeaten in the last four.

• The Rojiblancos have reached two UEFA Champions League and three UEFA Europa League finals in the last ten seasons.

• Atlético have won 30 of the 38 UEFA competition ties in which they have prevailed in the home first leg – last season's defeat by Juventus ended a run of 19 successive aggregate victories after a home win in the first game. When the home first leg has finished 1-0, Atlético's aggregate record is W8 L3, with victories in the last five such ties, most recently against Leicester in the 2016/17 quarter-finals (1-1 a) and in all three against English opposition.

• Atlético's record in six UEFA penalty shoot-outs is W2 L4:
6-7 v Derby, 1974/75 UEFA Cup second round
1-3 v Fiorentina, 1989/90 UEFA Cup first round
1-3 v Villarreal, 2004 UEFA Intertoto Cup final
3-2 v Bayer Leverkusen, 2014/15 UEFA Champions League round of 16
8-7 v PSV Eindhoven, 2015/16 UEFA Champions League round of 16
3-5 v Real Madrid, 2015/16 UEFA Champions League final

Links and trivia

• Have played in England:
Kieran Trippier (Manchester City 1999–2011, Barnsley 2010–11 (loan), Burnley 2011–15, Tottenham 2015–19)
Stefan Savić (Manchester City 2011–12)
Álvaro Morata (Chelsea 2017–18)
Diego Costa (Chelsea 2014–17)

Diego Costa played in England with Chelsea
Diego Costa played in England with ChelseaIcon Sport via Getty Images

• Trippier played 90 minutes as Spurs lost 2-0 to Liverpool in last season's UEFA Champions League final at Atlético's Estadio Metropolitano.

• Have played in Spain:
Fabinho (Real Madrid 2012/13)
Adrián (Real Betis 1998–2013, Alcalá 2008 (loan), Utrera 2009 (loan))

• Have played together:
James Milner & Stefan Savić (Manchester City 2011–12)
Fabinho & Thomas Lemar (Monaco 2015–18)

• International team-mates:
Jordan Henderson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joe Gomez, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Adam Lallana & Kieran Trippier (England)
Alisson Becker, Roberto Firmino, Fabinho & Renan Lodi (Brazil)
Dejan Lovren & Šime Vrsaljko (Croatia)
Divock Origi & Yannick Carrasco (Belgium)

Top