UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain v Italy: UEFA Champions League finals

With FC Barcelona set to face Juventus, we explore previous finals between Spanish and Italian sides, including the Bianconeri's last decider against a Liga club.

Past Spain v Italy finals
Past Spain v Italy finals

With FC Barcelona and Juventus preparing for their meeting in Berlin, UEFA.com has a look through the UEFA Champions League annals for other final encounters between Spanish and Italian sides – including THAT AC Milan triumph against Johan Cruyff's 'Dream Team' – and five other clashes over the years.

1957 Real Madrid CF 2-0 ACF Fiorentina
Having won the first ever edition of the European Champion Clubs' Cup the previous season, Madrid extended their reign as champions of Europe despite a strong showing by the Viola. Fiorentina goalkeeper Giuliano Sarti was in outstanding form – denying the Merengues' Alfredo Di Stéfano, Raymond Kopa and Francisco Gento – before the visitors' luck changed.

In front of a boisterous home crowd, Madrid were awarded a 69th-minute penalty, which was dispatched with gusto by Di Stéfano. Six minutes later, a sublime chip by Gento ensured the holders retained their European crown to the delight of 124,000 spectators at the Santiago Bernabéu.

Madrid retained the trophy in Brussels
Madrid retained the trophy in Brussels©Popperfoto/Getty Images

1958 Real Madrid CF 3-2 AC Milan (aet)
It took extra time in Brussels for Los Blancos to finally get the better of Milan and complete a hat-trick of European titles. For the second season running, Di Stéfano would make a telling contribution in the showpiece. However, a dramatic final at Heysel Stadium would be decided by a combination of Kopa and Gento.

The defending champions were matched throughout by a Milan team featuring Cesare Maldini and Nils Liedholm. Argentinian-born striker Di Stéfano scored one of two Madrid equalisers to take the game into extra time, before Gento struck a 107th-minute winner for the Spanish side.

1964 FC Internazionale Milano 3-1 Real Madrid CF
A year after rivals Milan were crowned Italy's first European winners, Helenio Herrera's charges became continental title holders.

Catenaccio and contropiede – deep defence and counterattack – were the keys to Inter's success in Vienna against a Madrid side featuring veteran forwards Ferenc Puskás and Di Stéfano. Los Blancos struggled to find a way past the Nerazzurri rearguard, with Argentinean tactician Herrera employing an ultra-defensive lineup.

Sandro Mazzola struck the opener and Aurelio Milani doubled Inter's lead after the break, and although Felo reduced the deficit, Mazzola's second goal of the match – following a spectacular solo run – sealed a famous Italian triumph.

Barcelona beat Sampdoria at Wembley
Barcelona beat Sampdoria at Wembley©Getty Images

1992 UC Sampdoria 0-1 FC Barcelona (aet)
Cruyff led Barça to their first ever triumph in Europe's most prestigious club competition. However, the decisive strike at Wembley – via the boot of Dutch defender Ronald Koeman – did not come until the second half of extra time.

During a fascinating dual, Gianluca Vialli and Roberto Mancini struggled to find their range for the Italian side. Meanwhile, Michael Laudrup and Hristo Stoichkov were foiled by Blucerchiati goalkeeper Gianluca Pagliuca at the opposite end.

It was going to take something special to separate the contenders, and Koeman provided it deep in extra time with a superb trademark free-kick.

1994 AC Milan 4-0 FC Barcelona
Beaten by Olympique de Marseille in the previous year's decider, Fabio Capello's underdogs responded in style 12 months later. Dejan Savićević scored one of Milan's four goals – a superb lob – as the Italian side swept aside Cruyff's 'Dream Team' in Athens.

With captain Franco Baresi suspended along with Alessandro Costacurta, the Rossoneri decided to fight fire with fire – despite Barça's attacking talent. Stoichkov and Romário, though, would be overshadowed by Daniele Massaro. The Monza-born forward gave Milan the initiative with two first-half goals, before Savićević's unforgettable strike and Marcel Desailly's effort sealed a memorable triumph.

Madrid prevailed in the 1998 final
Madrid prevailed in the 1998 final©Popperfoto/Getty Images

1998 Real Madrid CF 1-0 Juventus
Six times winners of the competition, the Merengues had to wait 32 years to become European champions for a seventh time. Their fortunes finally changed at the Amsterdam ArenA, as Predrag Mijatović's solitary 66th-minute goal secured 'La Séptima'.

Runners-up the previous season and winners in 1995/96, Marcello Lippi's Juve – featuring the likes of Zinedine Zidane, Alessandro Del Piero and Edgar Davids – were expected to lift the trophy once again. Yet, despite finishing a lowly fourth in the Liga, Jupp Heynckes' Madrid upset the odds to beat a Bianconeri side which had retained the Italian title days before.