UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Ronaldo equals Messi's group stage goals record

Cristiano Ronaldo's strike for Real Madrid against Borussia Dortmund on Wednesday means he has drawn level with Lionel Messi on 60 all-time goals in the group stage.

Ronaldo is mobbed after his goal against Dortmund
Ronaldo is mobbed after his goal against Dortmund ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo is now level with Lionel Messi at the top of the all-time UEFA Champions League group stage goalscorers leaderboard.

All-time group stage top scorers
60 Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
60 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Real Madrid)
40 Karim Benzema (Lyon, Real Madrid)
32 Zlatan Ibrahimović (Ajax, Juventus, Internazionale Milano, Barcelona, AC Milan, Paris, Manchester United)
29 Raúl González (Real Madrid, Schalke)
26 Sergio Agüero (Atlético Madrid, Manchester City)
26 Edinson Cavani (Napoli, Paris Saint-Germain)
26 Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund, Bayern München)
25 Didier Drogba (Marseille, Chelsea, Galatasaray)
25 Ruud van Nistelrooy (PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Hamburg)

Ronaldo started matchday six one adrift of his great rival, but has now drawn level thanks to his stunning strike against Borussia Dortmund. That effort took his group stage tally for this season alone to nine.

Ronaldo? Messi? Neymar? Who will you pick in your Team of the Year?
Ronaldo? Messi? Neymar? Who will you pick in your Team of the Year?

Top group stage scorers by season
2017/18 – 9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2016/17 – 10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2015/16 – 11: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2014/15 – 9: Luiz Adriano (Shakhtar Donetsk)
2013/14 – 9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2012/13 – 6= Burak Yilmaz (Galatasaray), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2011/12 – 6= Mario Gomez (Bayern München), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2010/11 – 7: Samuel Eto'o (Internazionale Milano)
2009/10 – 6: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2008/09 – 5= Karim Benzema (Lyon), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Klose (Bayern München), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2007/08 – 5= Zlatan Ibrahimović (Internazionale Milano), Cristiano Ronaldo (Man. United)
2006/07 – 5= Didier Drogba (Chelsea), Kaká (AC Milan), Fernando Morientes (Valencia)
2005/06 – 6: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan)
2004/05 – 8: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man. United)
2003/04 – 5= Didier Drogba (Marseille), Roy Makaay (Bayern München), Dado Pršo (Monaco), Hakan Şükür (Galatasaray)
2002/03* – 8= Hernán Crespo (Internazionale Milano), Filippo Inzaghi (AC Milan)
2001/02* – 6= Giovane Elber (Bayern München), David Trezeguet (Juventus)
2000/01* – 6= Rivaldo (Barcelona), Marco Simone (Monaco)
1999/2000* – 5= Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona)
1998/99 – 7: Zahovič (Porto)
1997/98 – 6: Thierry Henry (Monaco)
1996/97 – 4= Alen Bokšić (Juventus), Artur (Porto), Mário Jardel (Porto), Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid), Diego Simeone (Atlético Madrid), Marco Simone (AC Milan)
1995/96 – 6: Jari Litmanen (Ajax)
1994/95 – 6: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain)
1993/94 – 4: Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen)
1992/93 – 5: Franck Sauzée (Marseille)

*first group stage only