UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Which nations have the most UEFA Champions League winners?

Fifty-two nations can lay claim to a European Cup-winning player, and five more could potentially join the club in this season's final in Istanbul.

Inter's Hakan Çalhanoğlu could become Türkiye's first-ever Champions League winner
Inter's Hakan Çalhanoğlu could become Türkiye's first-ever Champions League winner Getty Images

Albania, Armenia, Slovakia, Slovenia and final hosts Türkiye could all have their first UEFA Champions League-winning players after this season's decider between Manchester City and Inter.

Inter's Kristjan Asllani, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Samir Handanovič, Milan Škriniar and Hakan Çalhanoğlu all have a chance to become their nations' first European Cup winners. No similar milestones will be set if City win, though Algeria's Riyad Mahrez can aspire to being his nation's second winner.

Some 606 players have featured in European Cup or Champions League final wins (many more than once). Of that number, Spain have had the most: 77 in total.

More trivia

• Greece have had the most finalists without producing a winner – 12; that total includes Panathinaikos' 11 men from their 1971 final defeat, plus Akis Zikos, a runner up with Monaco in 2004.

• Türkiye (12th in the current UEFA rankings) is the highest-ranked country never to have had a UEFA Champions League or European Cup winner; their three finalists to date all ended up with runners-up medals: Yıldıray Baştürk (Leverkusen, 2002), Hamit Altıntop (Bayern, 2010) and Nuri Şahin (Dortmund, 2013).

• The lowest-ranked European nation to boast a UEFA Champions League or European Cup finalist and champion is San Marino; Massimo Bonini – a 1985 winner with Juventus – represented the country ranked 55th out of 55 in UEFA's national coefficient rankings.

The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners
The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners©Getty Images

Number of players (by nation) who have won the European Cup/Champions League final

77: Spain
72: Italy
65: England
64: Germany
51: Netherlands
42: Brazil
40: Portugal
34: France
26: Scotland
12: Argentina
12: Romania
10: Croatia
9: Serbia
8: Republic of Ireland
8: Denmark
7: Sweden
4: Czechia
4: Poland
4: Wales
3: Belgium
3: Ghana
3: Ivory Coast
3: North Macedonia
3: Nigeria
3: Norway
3: Uruguay
2: Australia
2: Austria
2: Bosnia and Herzegovina
2: Cameroon
2: Finland
2: Mali
2: Montenegro
2: Northern Ireland
2: Senegal
: Switzerland

Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer
Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer©Bob Thomas/Getty Images

1: Algeria (Rabah Madjer, Porto 1987)
1: Bulgaria (Hristo Stoichkov, Barcelona 1992)
1: Canada (Alphonso Davies, Bayern 2020)
1: Costa Rica (Keylor Navas, Real Madrid 2016, 2017 & 2018)
1: Egypt (Mohamed Salah, Liverpool 2019)
1: Georgia (Kakha Kaladze, AC Milan 2003 & 2007)
1: Hungary (Ferenc Puskás, Real Madrid 1959, 1960 & 1966)
1: Mexico (Rafael Márquez, Barcelona 2006)
1: Peru (Víctor Benítez, AC Milan 1963)
: South Africa (Benni McCarthy, Porto 2004)
1: Russia (Dmitri Alenichev, Porto 2004)
1: San Marino (Massimo Bonini, Juventus 1985)
1: Trinidad & Tobago (Dwight Yorke, Manchester United 1999)
1: Ukraine (Andriy Shevchenko, AC Milan 2003)
1: United States (Christian Pulišić, Chelsea 2021)
1: Zimbabwe (Bruce Grobbelaar, Liverpool 1984)

Last updated 30/05/2023