UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Which nations have the most UEFA Champions League winners?

Fifty-two nations can lay claim to a European Cup-winning player.

Christian Pulišić is the first United States player to lift the trophy
Christian Pulišić is the first United States player to lift the trophy Chelsea FC via Getty Images

Chelsea’s 2021 UEFA Champions League triumph saw Christian Pulišić become the first player from the United States to play for the winning side in a final, taking the total number of nations that can lay claim to a European Cup-winning player to 52.

Since the first ever final in 1956, some 594 players have featured in European Cup or UEFA Champions League final wins (many more than once). Of that number, Spain have had the most winners with César Azpilicueta increasing their tally to 75 in the 2021 showpiece.

More trivia

• Greece have had the most finalists without producing a winner – 12; that total includes Panathinaikos' 11 men from their 1971 final defeat, plus Akis Zikos, a runner up with Monaco in 2004.

• Turkey (11th in the current UEFA rankings) is the highest-ranked country never to have had a UEFA Champions League or European Cup winner; Turkey's three finalists to date all ended up with runners-up medals: Yıldıray Baştürk (Leverkusen, 2002), Hamit Altıntop (Bayern, 2010) and Nuri Şahin (Dortmund, 2013).

• The lowest-ranked European nation to boast a UEFA Champions League or European Cup finalist and champion is San Marino; Massimo Bonini – a 1985 winner with Juventus – represented the country ranked 55th out of 55 in UEFA's national coefficient rankings.

Number of players (by nation) who have won the European Cup/UEFA Champions League final

The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners
The 1974 Bayern side were Germany's first winners©Getty Images

75: Spain
72: Italy
65: England
63: Germany
51: Netherlands
40: Portugal
38: Brazil
31: France
26: Scotland
12: Argentina
12: Romania
9: Serbia
9: Croatia
8: Republic of Ireland
8: Denmark
7: Sweden
4: Czech Republic
4: Poland
4: Wales
3: Ghana
3: Ivory Coast
3: North Macedonia
3: Nigeria
3: Norway
2: Australia
2: Austria
2: Belgium
2: Bosnia and Herzegovina
2: Cameroon
2: Finland
2: Mali
2: Montenegro
2: Northern Ireland
2: Senegal
2: Uruguay

Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer
Algerian pioneer Rabah Madjer©Bob Thomas/Getty Images

1: Algeria (Rabah Madjer, Porto 1987)
1: Bulgaria (Hriso Stoichkov, Barcelona 1992)
1: Canada (Alphonso Davies, Bayern 2020)
1: Costa Rica (Keylor Navas, Real Madrid 2016, 2017 & 2018)
1: Egypt (Mohamed Salah, Liverpool 2019)
1: Georgia (Kakha Kaladze, AC Milan 2003 & 2007)
1: Hungary (Ferenc Puskás, Real Madrid 1959, 1960 & 1966)
1: Mexico (Rafael Márquez, Barcelona 2006)
1: Peru (Víctor Benítez, AC Milan 1963)
1: South Africa (Benni McCarthy, Porto 2004)
1: Russia (Dmitri Alenichev, Porto 2004)
1: San Marino (Massimo Bonini, Juventus 1985)
1: Switzerland (Stéphane Chapuisat, Dortmund 1997)
1: Trinidad & Tobago (Dwight Yorke, Manchester United 1999)
1: Ukraine (Andriy Shevchenko, AC Milan 2003)
1: United States (Christian Pulišić, Chelsea 2021)
1: Zimbabwe (Bruce Grobbelaar, Liverpool 1984)

Last updated 29/05/21