UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

San Siro's previous four European Cup finals

We look back at the previous finals that have graced the Stadio San Siro.

Stefan Effenberg lifts the trophy after Bayern see off Valencia in 2001
Stefan Effenberg lifts the trophy after Bayern see off Valencia in 2001 ©Getty Images

Stadio San Siro hosts the showpiece of Europe's premier club competition for the fourth time this season, giving us the opportunity to look back and discover the stadium's finals legacy.

Jair scores the only goal in the 1965 final
Jair scores the only goal in the 1965 final©AFP

Inter 1-0 Benfica
27/05/1965, European Cup final
The Nerazzurri became the third side to win successive European titles, seeing off two-time champions Benfica on home soil as they adapted better to the muddy and waterlogged conditions.

The Portuguese club – led by Eusébio – had blown away Real Madrid and Hungary's Vasas in the previous two rounds, but the heavens opened to stymie their passing game. A Catenaccio-drilled Inter took advantage, with Brazilian Jair scoring two minutes before the interval to give 'La Grande Inter' a second crown.

Action from the 1970 final at San Siro
Action from the 1970 final at San Siro©Getty Images

Feyenoord 2-1 Celtic (aet)
06/05/1970 European Cup final
The great Ajax team of the early 1970s put Dutch soccer on the map with a trio of consecutive titles from 1971, yet it was their rivals from Rotterdam who beat them to the trophy by a year.

Under the guidance of famed Austrian coach Ernst Happel, Rinus Israel equalised two minutes after Tommy Gemmel's opener for 1967 winners Celtic. Prolific Swede Ole Kindvall struck with three minutes of extra time left to kick the door open for Dutch supremacy.

Highlights: 2001 Milan showdown
Highlights: 2001 Milan showdown

Bayern 1-1 Valencia (Bayern win 5-4 on pens)
23/05/2001 UEFA Champions League final
Bayern ended 25 years of waiting for their fourth European title as penalties dominated the day. Gaizka Mendieta and Stefan Effenberg traded regulation-time spot kicks and the game went to a shoot-out, clinched when Oliver Kahn denied Mauricio Pellegrino as the Spaniards lost the final for the second year running.

"I remember that Santiago Cañizares, the Valencia goalkeeper, lay down on the goal line and started to cry. I felt for him," said match winner Kahn, who had endured similar pain in 1999.

There have also been four UEFA Cup final legs played at Stadio San Siro …

Inter 2-0 Roma
08/05/1991 UEFA Cup final first leg
Lothar Matthäus's penalty and Nicola Berti's 67th-minute strike established a first-leg lead which Roma could only halve with a 1-0 success in the return match.

Inter 1-0 Salzburg
11/05/1994 UEFA Cup final second leg
After Berti again scored in the first leg to give Inter a 1-0 victory in Austria, Dutch midfielder Wim Jonk sealed the trophy triumph with the only goal of the second leg in Milan.

©Getty Images

Juventus 1-1 Parma
17/05/95 UEFA Cup final second leg
Following a 1-0 defeat in Parma, Juve had to play their home leg in Milan and despite going ahead through Gianluca Vialli were pegged back by Dino Baggio's second goal of the tie, which earned a draw and the trophy for Parma.

Inter 1-0 Schalke
21/05/97 UEFA Cup final second leg
Iván Zamorano decided the second leg for Inter six minutes from time to herald the lottery of penalties; however, the Chilean forward missed in the shoot-out along with Aron Winter, allowing Schalke to land the prize.