UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Champions League round of 16 classics

From Mourinho's touchline charge to the 'Lions of Wembley', UEFA.com picks out a classic last-16 tie from each of the last 15 seasons.

Paulo Dybala led Juventus past Tottenham in the 2017/18 last 16
Paulo Dybala led Juventus past Tottenham in the 2017/18 last 16 ©Getty Images

The 2018/19 UEFA Champions League is the 16th edition since the knockout round of 16 replaced the second group stage. UEFA.com picks out a classic tie from each of the past 15 seasons – all headline scores are aggregate.

2003/04: Manchester United 2-3 Porto
This was just the start for eventual champions Porto. Two Benni McCarthy goals helped earn a 2-1 first-leg win in the first European match at their new Estádio do Dragão, and the Old Trafford return leg made José Mourinho a global star – his famous charge down the touchline being prompted by Costinha's 90th-minute strike, which came with Porto 1-0 down and heading out on away goals.

2004/05: Chelsea 5-4 Barcelona
For sheer impudence and execution, Ronaldinho's second goal at Stamford Bridge remains hard to match. It was, however, a mere footnote in a thrilling tie. Unperturbed by a 2-1 loss and red card for Didier Drogba at Camp Nou, Chelsea were 3-0 up within 19 minutes of the return game. If Ronaldinho's double threatened to derail the west London club, a header by captain John Terry finally secured a notable victory.

Trezeguet in his Juventus pomp
Trezeguet in his Juventus pomp©Getty Images

2005/06: Juventus 4-4 Werder Bremen (Juve win on away goals)
David Trezeguet put Juve 2-1 ahead with eight minutes left of the first leg in Bremen, but had little time to celebrate, the hosts striking twice to emerge 3-2 winners. The Frenchman's effort ultimately settled the tie on away goals, though; Bremen took the lead at the Delle Alpi, but goals from Trezeguet and Emerson made it 4-4 on aggregate to ensure a tense yet satisfactory finish for Juve.

2006/07: Bayern München 4-4 Real Madrid (Bayern win on away goals)
Two goals in four minutes – 1,500km and a fortnight apart – turned this contest. Madrid led 3-1 at home courtesy of Raúl González and Ruud van Nistelrooy, but Mark van Bommel's 88th-minute effort gave Bayern hope for the return, and Roy Makaay promptly levelled matters with the competition's fastest goal. Lúcio rubber-stamped victory, although van Nistelrooy's late score made for a nervy finale.

Fenerbahçe hero Volkan Demirel
Fenerbahçe hero Volkan Demirel©Getty Images

2007/08: Sevilla 5-5 Fenerbahçe (Fenerbahçe win 3-2 on pens)
Sevilla were twice ahead in this tie but still went out. Zico's men had been pegged back twice in Istanbul before Semih Şentürk wrapped up a 3-2 win on the night. Sevilla then came roaring back at home, and were 11 minutes from victory until being taken to extra time. Neither team could find the knockout punch, Volkan Demirel eventually taking the plaudits with three shoot-out saves.

2008/09: Bayern München 12-1 Sporting CP
The biggest aggregate triumph in UEFA Champions League history, this was scarcely a contest from the moment Franck Ribéry fired Bayern in front just before half-time in Lisbon. A 5-0 victory ensued and, back in Germany, six different scorers enabled Bayern to equal the single-leg record for biggest winning margin in the knockout stage.

2009/10: Manchester United 7-2 AC Milan
United did not quite match their feat from three seasons prior of putting seven past Roma in one game, but this was another ruthless display from Sir Alex Ferguson's men. Two Wayne Rooney goals contributed to a 3-2 success at San Siro which set the scene for a vintage Old Trafford performance. Rooney was again at the double as United's pace, power and purpose told.

2010/11: Bayern München 3-3 Internazionale Milano (Inter win on away goals)
Bayern keeper Thomas Kraft's heroics underpinned Mario Gomez's 90th-minute winner in Milan, though this repeat of the 2010 final was far from over. Samuel Eto'o swiftly drew holders Inter level in Bavaria, only for Bayern to go 3-1 up on aggregate inside 31 minutes. However, in a final twist, Wesley Sneijder and (two minutes from time) Goran Pandev struck to send the Nerazzurri through.

Inter celebrate their 2010 win at Bayern
Inter celebrate their 2010 win at Bayern©Getty Images

2011/12: APOEL 1-1 Lyon (APOEL win 4-3 on pens)
The first Cypriot side to reach the knockout phase, Ivan Jovanović's APOEL lost 1-0 in Lyon before forcing extra time in Nicosia courtesy of an early effort from Gustavo Manduca. The goalscorer's 115th-minute red card might have unsettled APOEL, but goalkeeper Dionisios Chiotis kept his cool as the hosts came out on top in the ensuing shoot-out.

2012/13: Bayern München 3-3 Arsenal (Bayern win on away goals)
Jupp Heynckes' men led 2-0 within 21 minutes of the north London opener, and ended up 3-1 victors on the night, but the second leg would be anything but a formality. Olivier Giroud gave the Gunners early encouragement and Laurent Koscielny's finish made for a frantic final few minutes – however Bayern hung on. They would be back in the English capital come May.

2013/14: Manchester United 3-2 Olympiacos
New boss David Moyes steered United through the group phase unbeaten, but his team went down 2-0 in the Piraeus first leg. The Greek champions had lost on all 11 previous visits to England, however, and Robin van Persie's 25th-minute penalty at Old Trafford had nerves jangling. The Dutchman made it 2-2 on the stroke of half-time, before curling in a free-kick early in the second period to complete the comeback.

2014/15: Chelsea 3-3 Paris Saint-Germain (Paris win on away goals)
Having drawn 1-1 in Paris, Chelsea may have felt their luck was in when Paris talisman Zlatan Ibrahimović was sent off on 31 minutes at Stamford Bridge. Gary Cahill put Mourinho's men ahead late on, yet David Luiz's even later leveller forced extra time. There, Eden Hazard's 96th-minute penalty restored Chelsea's advantage, only for Thiago Silva's header six minutes from time to reward a superlative Paris effort.

2015/16: Atlético Madrid 0-0 PSV Eindhoven (Atlético win 8-7 on pens)
This was the first UEFA Champions League knockout tie to finish goalless after two legs plus 30 minutes of extra time. PSV had lost Gastón Pereiro to a red card early in the second half in Eindhoven, but clung on for a draw. Atlético then had twice as many shots in the return leg – 24 – but still it went to penalties, PSV's Luciano Narsingh striking the crossbar with the 15th kick of the shoot-out to allow Juanfran to win it.

Watch Barcelona's historic comeback
Watch Barcelona's historic comeback

2016/17: Barcelona 6-5 Paris Saint-Germain
Paris's 4-0 first-leg demolition of Barcelona inspired an even crazier result at Camp Nou. It was 2-0 to Barça by the break, and Lionel Messi struck from the spot soon after half-time. However, Edinson Cavani's away goal should have finished it, but with two minutes of regulation time left Neymar went into overdrive – his free-kick followed by a penalty and an assist for Sergi Roberto combined to win the tie five minutes into added time.

Watch Dybala's Wembley winner
Watch Dybala's Wembley winner

2017/18: Juventus 4-3 Tottenham
"The Lions of Wembley" was Corriere dello Sport's headline after Juve thwarted Spurs, who had rallied from 2-0 down to draw 2-2 in the first leg, Gonzalo Higuaín failing to complete a hat-trick when he blazed a penalty against the crossbar. Son Heung-min put the hosts ahead in the first half of the return leg, but Paulo Dybala and Higuaín struck in quick succession after the interval to forge on to the last eight.