Lineup complete for group-stage draw

The lineup for the 2010/11 UEFA Champions League group stage is complete and the 32 clubs have been split into four seeding pots for the draw at 18.00CET on Thursday in Monaco.

The lineup is complete for the 2010/11 UEFA Champions League group stage and 32 clubs await the draw at 18.00CET on Thursday at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.

Former champions AFC Ajax, returning duo AJ Auxerre and FC København and group-stage newcomers MŠK Žilina and Tottenham Hotspur FC became the final five sides to earn their berths at the conclusion of the play-off round on Wednesday night, all celebrating victories at home. Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC, FC Basel 1893, FK Partizan, SC Braga and SV Werder Bremen had earlier won through in Tuesday's play-off second legs to join the 22 automatic entrants led by holders FC Internazionale Milano.

In all, 18 associations are represented and as well as Tottenham and Žilina, Braga, Hapoel, Bursaspor and FC Twente will be making their group-stage debuts. By contrast, Manchester United FC will be in the draw for a record 16th time out of a possible 19. Only 12 of last year's 32 contenders have qualified again.

For the draw, the 32 teams are split into four seeding pots depending on each club's coefficient. Every group will contain one team from each of the seeding pots, though no club can play a side from their own association and there are further procedures determining the exact placing of each contender.

Route Last in Years* 2009/10** Best***
Pot 1
FC Internazionale Milano
Holders/ Champions, Italy
2009/10 9 Winners Winners
FC Barcelona
Champions, Spain
2009/10 14
Manchester United FC
Runners-up, England
2009/10 15 Quarter-finals Winners
Chelsea FC
Champions, England
2009/10 8 Round of 16 Runners-up
Arsenal FC
Third place, England 2009/10 12 Quarter-finals Runners-up
FC Bayern München
Champions, Germany
2009/10 13 Runners-up Winners
AC Milan
Third place,
2009/10 13 Round of 16 Winners
Olympique Lyonnais
Runners-up, France 2009/10 10 Semi-finals Semi-finals
Pot 2
SV Werder Bremen Third place, Germany 2008/09 6 UEL, round of 16 Quarter-finals
Real Madrid CF   
Runners-up, Spain 2009/10 14 Round of 16 Winners
AS Roma
Runners-up, Italy 2008/09 6 UEL, round of 32 Runners-up
FC Shakhtar Donetsk
Champions, Ukraine
2008/09 5 UEL, round of 32 Group stage
SL Benfica
Champions, Portugal
2007/08 5 UEL, qf Winners
Valencia CF
Third place, Spain 2007/08 6 UEL, qf Runners-up
Olympique de Marseille
Champions, France
2009/10 6 UEL, round of 16 Winners
Panathinaikos FC Champions, Greece 2008/09 8 UEL, round of 16 Runners-up
Pot 3
Tottenham Hotspur FC
Fourth place, England
Debut 0 Did not compete
Rangers FC
Champions, Scotland
2009/10 9 Group stage Semi-finals
AFC Ajax
2005/06 8 UEL, round of 32
FC Schalke 04 Runners-up, Germany 2007/08 2 Did not compete
FC Basel 1893 Champions, Switzerland 2008/09 2 UEL, group stage Second group stage
SC Braga Runners-up, Portugal Debut 0 UEL, 3qr
FC København
Champions, Denmark
2006/07 1 UEL, round of 32 Group stage
FC Spartak Moskva Runners-up, Russia 2006/07 9 Did not compete Semi-finals
Pot 4
Tel-Aviv FC
Champions, Israel
Debut 0 UEL, round of 32
FC Twente Champions, Netherlands Debut 0
UEL, round of 32 N/A
FC Rubin Kazan Champions, Russia 2009/10 1
UEL, round of 16 Group stage
AJ Auxerre
Third place, France
2002/03 3
Did not compete
CFR 1907 Cluj Champions, Romania 2008/09 1
UEL, group stage Group stage
FK Partizan
Champions, Serbia
2003/04 1 UEL, group stage Runners-up
MŠK Žilina
Champions, Slovakia
UEL, play-off round
Champions, Turkey
Debut 0 Did not compete N/A

*Past group-stage appearances not including 2010/11
**UEFA Champions League unless stated
***Includes pre-1992 European Champion Clubs' Cup
UEL=UEFA Europa League
3qr=third qualifying round