Milan to host 2016 UEFA Champions League final

Milan's Stadio Giuseppe Meazza has been selected to host the 2016 UEFA Champions League final, the fourth time the European Cup will be decided at San Siro.

Milan's Stadio Giuseppe Meazza – otherwise known as San Siro – has been selected to host the 2016 UEFA Champions League final.

Watch the video above for highlights of the three previous European Cup finals played in Milan.

The decision was made at Thursday's UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon and it will be the fourth time the European Cup has been decided at the stadium after showpiece occasions in 1965, 1970 and 2001. The arena, first opened in 1926, is home to both AC Milan and FC Internazionale Milano, and has a capacity of nearly 80,000 seats for UEFA competitions.

The 2015 final will be on 6 June at Berlin's Olympiastadion

Stadium facts
• The stadium was built for AC Milan in 1925 and originally named after the district in which it is located, San Siro. Inter beat Milan 6-3 in the opening game on 19 September 1926.

Kahn on 2001 final in Milan
Kahn on 2001 final in Milan

• AC Milan owned the stadium until it was sold to the city in 1935, before an enlargement that increased capacity to more than 50,000 in 1939.

• Inter moved into the venue in 1947 and a revamp in the mid-1950s took the capacity to above 100,000.

• In 1965, Inter won the first European Cup final to be played at the stadium, followed by Feyenoord in 1970 and FC Bayern München in 2001.

• Milan was used as a venue during the 1980 UEFA European Championship, the same year that it was officially renamed after former Inter and Milan player Giuseppe Meazza.

• The stadium was further overhauled as an all-seater with its impressive concrete towers for the 1990 FIFA World Cup.