One-nation UEFA Champions League finals

For the second time in three years, Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid meet in the UEFA Champions League final; we look back to that game and the other single-nation deciders.

1999/2000 Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
Neither Madrid nor Valencia were Spanish champions, but respective knockout victories against Manchester United and Bayern München, and Lazio and Barcelona, set up the first UEFA Champions League final between domestic rivals. It was Madrid's 11th final – and second in three years, a side coached by Jupp Heynckes having ended a 32-year wait to reclaim the trophy in 1998 – and Valencia's first, and that gulf in experience told at the Stade de France.

Vicente del Bosque's Madrid took the lead through Fernando Morientes shortly before half-time and, with Héctor Cúper's Valencia unable to recapture the attacking brio that had taken them to Paris, second-half strikes from Steve McManaman and Raúl González confirmed the eighth of Madrid's ten European Cup successes.

2002/03 AC Milan 0-0 Juventus (Milan win 3-2 on penalties)
Italy provided three of the four semi-finalists, Internazionale Milano the team to miss out on the final at Old Trafford after losing to their neighbours in the last four. With Milan and Juve knowing each other inside out, it proved a tense affair of few openings – even the competition's top scorer that season, Rossoneri forward Filippo Inzaghi, was unable to deliver a breakthrough in Manchester.

Clarence Seedorf and Kakha Kaladze failed for Milan in the resulting shoot-out, but David Trezeguet, Marcelo Zalayeta and Paolo Montero did likewise for Juve, enabling Andriy Shevchenko to take the trophy to Milan for the sixth time.

2007/08 Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea (United win 6-5 on pens)
Again, three of the last four came from the same country, Chelsea avenging their defeats by Liverpool at the same stage in 2005 and 2007 to reach their maiden showpiece. United drew first blood at Moscow's Stadion Luzhniki as Cristiano Ronaldo nodded them in front, yet Frank Lampard levelled before half-time.

With no further goals, the game headed to extra time and then, with penalties looming, Chelsea lost Didier Drogba to a red card. They seemed to have shrugged off that setback when Petr Čech saved from Ronaldo in the shoot-out, giving John Terry the chance to clinch victory; instead the Chelsea captain slipped and sent his kick against the post. When Edwin van der Sar subsequently denied Nicolas Anelka, the silverware was bound for Old Trafford.

2012/13 Bayern München 2-1 Borussia Dortmund
Bayern had finished the Bundesliga campaign 25 points clear of Dortmund and appeared poised to land their fifth European Cup when Mario Mandžukić supplied the 60th-minute breakthrough at Wembley after both sides had fluffed a series of opportunities.

İlkay Gündoğan's penalty swiftly restored parity – the first goal Bayern had conceded in the competition in 432 minutes – yet it was Heynckes' team that still looked more likely to snatch a late winner. So it proved in the 89th minute when Arjen Robben wriggled through to send the trophy to Munich for a fifth time.

2013/14 Real Madrid CF 4-1 Club Atlético de Madrid (aet)
Just a week before this showdown in Lisbon, Diego Simeone's men had pipped both Barcelona and Madrid to claim Atlético's first Liga title since 1996. Diego Godín – whose goal had clinched the championship – scored another header in the final and it seemed set to earn a most unexpected double for Atlético. However, Sergio Ramos equalised three minutes into stoppage time and the momentum was with Carlo Ancelotti's side thereafter.

Gareth Bale, Marcelo and Ronaldo – via the penalty spot – all struck in extra time to seal a memorable fightback. It was a remarkable climax to Madrid's quest for 'La Décima'. Madrid also knocked out Atlético 1-0 on aggregate in the 2015 quarter-finals; there would not be long to wait before there were to meet in Europe again ...