Can Ronaldo break his Champions League record?

Cristiano Ronaldo goes into the final against Atlético Madrid needing one more goal to match his own record of 17 in a UEFA Champions League campaign.

Will Cristiano Ronaldo set a new mark in the final?
Will Cristiano Ronaldo set a new mark in the final? ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo has scored 16 goals in eleven UEFA Champions League games en route to the final; can he match the record tally of 17 he scored in 2013/14?

Ronaldo finished as the competition's top scorer in 2007/08 (eight goals), 2012/13 (12), 2013/14 (17) and 2014/15, when he tied with Lionel Messi and Neymar on ten. He looks certain to do so for a fifth time, having already become the first player to reach double figures in a UEFA Champions League group stage in the autumn, ending the group stage with 11.

The Portugal captain's 2015/16 total includes three hat-tricks, the most recent of which he registered against Wolfsburg in the quarter-finals. The 31-year-old is the first player to score three trebles in a single UEFA Champions League campaign. Another goal in Milan would also make him the first player to find the net in three UEFA Champions League finals.

Ronaldo also has a clear lead over Messi in the all-time UEFA Champions League scoring charts (93 goals to 83).

Watch Cristiano Ronaldo's semi-final hat-trick
Watch Cristiano Ronaldo's semi-final hat-trick
Ronaldo: My Magic Moment
Ronaldo: My Magic Moment
Portugal’s EURO star: Cristiano Ronaldo
Portugal’s EURO star: Cristiano Ronaldo

Most goals in a UEFA Champions League season
17 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2013/14
16 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2015/16
14 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 2011/12
12 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 2012/13
12 Mario Gomez (Bayern München) 2011/12
12 Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 2010/11
12 Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 2002/03

UEFA Champions League top scorers by season
: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 10
2013/14: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 17
2012/13: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 12
2011/12: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 14
2010/11: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 12
2009/10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 8
2008/09: Lionel Messi (Barcelona) 9
2007/08: Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United) 8
2006/07: Kaká (AC Milan) 10
2005/06: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan) 9
2004/05: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 8
2003/04: Fernando Morientes (Monaco) 9
2002/03: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 12
2001/02: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United) 10
2000/01: Raúl González (Real Madrid) 7
1999/2000: Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raúl González (Real Madrid) 10
1998/99: Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv), Dwight Yorke (Manchester United) 8
1997/98: Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus) 10
1996/97: Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid) 5
1995/96: Jari Litmanen (Ajax) 9
1994/95: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain FC) 7
1993/94: Ronald Koeman (Barcelona), Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen) 8
1992/93: Romário (PSV Eindhoven) 7