Who scored your club's first Champions League goal?

It took Galatasaray nearly six hours, Dortmund 38 seconds; Real Madrid's was a tap-in and Porto's a stunner.

Edinson Cavani scores Napoli's first UEFA Champions League goal against Manchester City in 2011
Edinson Cavani scores Napoli's first UEFA Champions League goal against Manchester City in 2011 ©Getty Images

You always remember your first … or do you?

Hoffenheim make their debut in the UEFA Champions League stage next week, but who will have the honour of scoring that historic first goal? And how long will the Bundesliga side's fans have to wait?

Over the past 26 years, 137 clubs have registered in the group stage. Some didn’t have to wait long (it took 38 seconds for Andreas Möller to get Dortmund up and running); some did (there were four minutes of Galatasaray's maiden group stage left when they finally got off the mark).

There have been own goals and penalties; goals scored by likely suspects and strikes decidedly left of left field (Cihat Arslan, anyone?). There have been tap-ins and there have been goals truly fitting of the occasion – step forward, Porto and Bayern.

First group stage goals

Watch Scholl score Bayern's opener
Watch Scholl score Bayern's opener

AEK Athens – Toni Savevski v Ajax, 1994 (120 minutes)
Ajax – Ronald de Boer v Milan, 1994 (50 minutes)
Atlético – Juan Esnáider v Steaua, 1996 (33 minutes)
Barcelona – Txiki Begiristain v Monaco, 1993 (16 minutes)
Bayern – Mehmet Scholl v Dynamo Kyiv, 1994 (99 minutes)
Benfica – Claudio Caniggia v Anderlecht, 1994 (117 minutes)
Club Brugge – Daniel Amokachi v CSKA Moskva, 1992 (17 minutes)
Crvena zvezda – N/A

Watch Owen open Liverpool's account
Watch Owen open Liverpool's account

CSKA Moskva – Ilshat Fayzulin v Marseille, 1993 (235 minutes)
Dortmund – Andreas Möller v Juventus, 1995 (38 seconds!)
Galatasaray – Cihat Arslan v Spartak Moskva, 1994 (536 minutes)
Hoffenheim – N/A
Inter Milan – Youri Djorkaeff v Sturm Graz, 1998 (180 minutes)
Juventus – Michele Padovano v Dortmund, 1995 (12 minutes)
Liverpool – Michael Owen v Boavista, 2001 (29 minutes)
Lokomotiv Moskva – Vladimir Maminov v Anderlecht, 2001 (18 minutes)

Watch Weah find the net for Paris
Watch Weah find the net for Paris

Lyon – Sonny Anderson v Heerenveen, 2000 (2 minutes)
Manchester City – Aleksandar Kolarov v Napoli, 2011 (74 minutes)
Manchester United – Ryan Giggs v IFK Göteborg, 1994 (33 minutes)
Monaco – Jürgen Klinsmann v Spartak Moskva, 1993 (17 minutes)
Napoli – Edinson Cavani v Man. City, 2011 (69 minutes)
Paris Saint-Germain – George Weah v Bayern, 1994 (41 minutes)
Plzeň – Marek Bakoš v BATE Borisov, 2011 (45+1 minutes)
Porto – Magalhães v PSV Eindhoven, 1992 (35 minutes)

PSV Eindhoven – Romário v Porto, 1992 (43 minutes)
Real Madrid – Iván Zamorano v Grasshoppers, 1995 (159 minutes)
Roma – Francesco Totti pen v Real Madrid, 2001 (73 minutes)
Schalke – Marco van Hoogdalem v Arsenal, 2001 (133 minutes)
Shakhtar – Aleksei Bakharev v Arsenal, 2000 (116 minutes)
Tottenham – Petri Pasanen og v Bremen, 2010 (12 minutes)
Valencia – Kily González v Rangers, 1999 (57 minutes)
Young Boys – N/A