S is for...

uefa.com's A to Z countdown to the final in Istanbul on 25 May continues with some super Ss.

As uefa.com Action's A to Z countdown to the UEFA Champions League final on 25 May continues, it is time for some great Ss.

Without question one of the game's great strikers, AC Milan's Andriy Shevchenko was awarded the Ballon D'Or in 2004. His six goals this season have helped Milan on the way to their second appearance in the final in the last three years.

Shevchenko first came to prominence during the 1998/99 season when his eight goals lit up FC Dynamo Kyiv's incredible Champions League campaign. The Ukrainian side gave FC Bayern München a run for their money in the semi-finals, with Shevchenko scoring twice in the first leg, but the German club eventually prevailed 4-3 on aggregate.

Shevchenko went on to sign for Milan and scored the decisive penalty in the 2002/03 Champions League final against Juventus FC at Old Trafford to collect his first winners' medal.

Milan's Dutch midfield player Clarence Seedorf holds a unique record - he is the only player to have won the Champions League with three different clubs. He won the first of his three titles in Vienna with AFC Ajax, defeating Milan 1-0 in 1994/95.

He later moved to Real Madrid CF and helped them overcome Juventus FC 1-0 in 1997/98. The following year he joined FC Internazionale Milano, but it was not until he moved on to Milan three seasons later that he won his third Champions League.

Seedorf could so easily have been a villain at Old Trafford having missed his effort in the penalty shoot-out after the game ended goalless, but Shevchenko's winner spared his blushes. He now stands to win a fourth Champions League title in Istanbul this season.

Seven is considered to be a lucky number in many cultures, but not if you are Werder Bremen, Olympiacos CFP or Rosenborg BK - the only sides ever to have conceded exactly seven goals in a UEFA Champions League match.

Bremen lost 7-2 against Olympique Lyonnais in a last-16 tie this season, while Olympiacos were taken apart by Juventus in 2003/04. They were 4-0 down by half-time at the Stadio Delle Alpi as Fabrizio Miccoli and Enzo Maresca added to two goals by David Trezeguet. Marco Di Vaio, Alessandro Del Piero and Marcelo Zalayeta completed the rout with goals in the second half.

Three years previously Paris Saint-Germain FC had put seven past Rosenborg, although the Norwegian side did find the net twice to add a little respectability. With a place in the second group stage on offer for the winners, PSG showed devastating nerve, with Nicolas Anelka scoring twice.