UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA EURO 2020 hosts to be revealed in Geneva

The 12 associations that will host the 'EURO for Europe' in 2020 will be selected by the UEFA Executive Committee in a ceremony in Geneva on Friday 19 September.

UEFA EURO 2020 interim logo
UEFA EURO 2020 interim logo ©UEFA.com

The UEFA Executive Committee will select the 12 host associations for UEFA EURO 2020 on Friday 19 September 2014.

The announcement ceremony will take place at the Espace Hippomène, Avenue de Châtelaine 7, 1203 Geneva, Switzerland at 13.00CET.

The decision to stage a 'EURO for Europe' in various major cities throughout the continent follows an initial idea presented by the UEFA President Michel Platini in consultation with UEFA's member associations. It was ratified by the UEFA Executive Committee at its meeting in Lausanne in December 2012.

Match packages
The matches have been split into 13 different packages. There are 12 standard packages, including three group matches and one knockout round match (round of 16 or quarter-finals), and one package for the semi-finals and the final.

The 19 member associations/cities that have submitted bid dossiers for the standard package, in alphabetical order, are:
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia/Skopje
Republic of Ireland/Dublin
Russia/Saint Petersburg

The member associations/cities that have submitted bid dossiers for the semi-finals/final package, in alphabetical order, are:


The programme for the day of the UEFA EURO 2020 hosts announcement ceremony is as follows:

• 09.00-13.00: Deliberation and voting by the UEFA Executive Committee

• 13.00: Announcement of the host associations of UEFA EURO 2020

• 13.30: Press conference, interviews with winning associations and bidding delegations

Voting procedure
The distribution of the bids into between six and eight geographical zones will be approved prior to the UEFA Executive Committee meeting on Thursday 18 September, by members of the UEFA Executive Committee whose member association is not among the 19 bidders.

Regional zoning, each comprising at least two venues, will ensure that matches take place throughout Europe.

The voting process itself will comprise four successive phases.

• The first voting phase will determine the association/city that will host the final and semi-finals.

• The second phase will determine the four associations/cities that will each host one quarter-final and three group matches.

• The third phase will determine one association/city (to host one round of 16 match and three group matches) in each geographical zone that has not yet been selected in the first two phases.

• And the fourth phase will determine the remaining associations/cities that will each host one round of 16 match and three group matches.

Read the full bid regulations of UEFA EURO 2020, including the detailed voting process.

Media accreditation
Media representatives wishing to attend the final bid presentations and the announcement ceremony on Friday 19 September are requested to apply for accreditation by email mentioning 'UEFA EURO 2020 announcement' in the subject header. The application period is from 14 August to 12 September.

The e-mail must contain the following mandatory information:
• Complete first/last name
• Media/broadcaster organisation
• Function (written press/website journalist/photographer/cameraman/TV reporter/radio reporter)
• Telephone number
• Email address

Facilities will be in place for media to cover the event within the main hall, with a working room also provided. Interview possibilities with the bidding member associations will be organised, after the announcement, in a mixed zone.

Broadcasters interested in booking additional broadcast services are requested to contact:

European Broadcasting Union - EUROVISION
Special Events Unit / Rasha HASBINI
T. +41 22 717 28 40
M. +41 79 244 65 63


Notifications about the media accreditation application as well as media information will be sent out as of 12 September.