UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Papin strikes as France deny EURO 1992 hosts Sweden in Group 1

Sweden 1-1 France
Jean-Pierre Papin silenced the hosts on opening night.

France celebrate their equaliser, scored by Jean Pierre Papin (No9)
France celebrate their equaliser, scored by Jean Pierre Papin (No9) Icon Sport via Getty Images

Tommy Svensson's Sweden had the honour of scoring the first goal of EURO '92, but Jean-Pierre Papin struck to deny the hosts an opening-night victory in Group A.

Eriksson arrived late to get a head to Anders Limpar's corner from the left after 24 minutes, and Sweden thoroughly deserved their lead, with Jonas Thern in commanding form in midfield. However, Les Bleus' coach Michel Platini changed things round at the interval, bringing on Christian Perez. The tiny midfielder duly laid on the equaliser on 58 minutes, with Papin chasing down his through ball and firing past Thomas Ravelli in the Sweden goal.

EURO 1992: All you need to know

France did it the hard way, though, looking a pale comparison of the side who had won all of their qualifiers to reach the finals. Even with parity restored they were almost hit again as Klas Ingesson, Sweden's midfield workhorse, managed to hit a post with France unable to entirely stifle the hosts in front of a lively Råsunda Stadium crowd.

Highlights: The best goals of EURO '92
Highlights: The best goals of EURO '92

Both sides seemed happy enough with the draw, and a good result against France did much to fire local enthusiasm for the Sweden team. With England and Denmark drawing 0-0 in the other Group A opener the following day, the stage was set for a nail-biting section."

EURO 1992: Team of the Tournament


The EURO 1992 opening ceremony  in Solna
The EURO 1992 opening ceremony in SolnaGetty Images

Sweden: Ravelli; Björklund, Patrik Andersson, Jan Eriksson, Roland Nilsson; Limpar, Schwarz, Thern (c), Ingesson; Kennet Andersson (Dahlin 74), Brolin
: Rehn, Lars Eriksson, Mikael Nilsson, Erlingmark, Jansson, Ljung, Joakim Nilsson, Ekström
Coach: Tommy Svensson

France: Martini; Amoros (c), Casoni, Blanc, Boli, Angloma (Fernández 66); Vahirua (Perez 46), Deschamps, Sauzée; Papin, Cantona
Substitutes: Silvestre, Petit, Cocard, Durand, Divert, Garde, Rousset
Coach: Michel Platini

Referee: Alexei Spirin (CIS)