UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Beenhakker call raises eyebrows

Radosław Matusiak and Grzegorz Bronowicki have been left out of the Poland squad with Radosław Majewski also missing from Leo Beenhakker's party.

Radosław Matusiak has missed out on the Poland squad
Radosław Matusiak has missed out on the Poland squad ©Getty Images

Radosław Matusiak and Grzegorz Bronowicki have surprisingly been left out of the Poland squad for UEFA EURO 2008™ with Radosław Majewski also failing to win a place in Leo Beenhakker's 23-man party.

Qualifying successes
Although Groclin Grodzisk Wielkopolski playmaker Majewski, who has won four caps but did not feature in qualifying, was widely expected to be one of the three players Beenhakker opted to exclude from his provisional squad, the omissions of Wisła Kraków forward Matusiak and FK Crvena Zvezda left-back Bronowicki are more of a surprise. The former scored three goals in seven qualifying appearances while Bronowicki featured in eight of Poland's 14 Group A games.

'Hard work'
"Majewski is a good prospect for the future but for now EURO 2008 is too high a level for him; he's worked hard but must remain at home," Beenhakker said at the team's training camp in Donaueschingen, Germany. "Bronowicki is not ready to play three really tough games in nine days. I have huge respect for him because of his fight to win a place in the squad but he did not manage to recover fully from his knee injury. Matusiak has made a step forward with his hard work during the training camp but is still not in his best form."

Roger in
Brazil-born midfielder Roger Guerreiro, who received his Polish passport last month, has made the final squad. The 26-year-old playmaker made his debut in Tuesday's 1-0 friendly win against Albania and will hope to be involved on 1 June, when Poland play their final warm-up match against Denmark in Chorzow.

Poland squad
Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc (Celtic FC), Tomasz Kuszczak (Manchester United FC), Łukasz Fabiański (Arsenal FC).

Defenders: Jacek Bąk (FK Austria Wien), Marcin Wasilewski (RSC Anderlecht), Paweł Golański (FC Steaua Bucureşti), Mariusz Jop (FC Moskva), Adam Kokoszka (Wisła Kraków), Jakub Wawrzyniak (Legia Warszawa), Michał Żewłakow (Olympiacos CFP).

Midfielders: Dariusz Dudka (Wisła Kraków), Jakub Błaszczykowski (BV Borussia Dortmund), Mariusz Lewandowski (FC Shakhtar Donetsk), Rafał Murawski (Lech Poznań), Łukasz Garguła (GKS Bełchatów), Jacek Krzynówek (VfL Wolfsburg), Michał Pazdan (Górnik Zabrze), Roger Guerreiro (Legia Warszawa)

Forwards: Euzebiusz Smolarek (Real Racing Club Santander), Wojciech Łobodziński (Wisła Kraków), Maciej Żurawski (Larissa FC), Tomasz Zahorski (Górnik Zabrze), Marek Saganowski (Southampton FC).