UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spain join Germany atop the EURO podium

Having become the first team to successfully defend the UEFA European Championship, Spain have joined Germany as the only three-time winners of the continent's greatest prize.

David Silva scored Spain's opening goal in the final victory against Italy
David Silva scored Spain's opening goal in the final victory against Italy ©Getty Images

Spain's class of 2012 have etched their country's name on to the Henri Delaunay Cup for a third time with their record 4-0 victory against Italy in Kyiv.

Vicente del Bosque's men won the 14th edition of the UEFA European Championship at the Olympic Stadium, denying their opponents a second title in the process. Spain were previously crowned European champions on home soil in 1964 and in Austria/Switzerland four years ago and they now join Germany (1972 and 1980 as West Germany, 1996) as the only country with three titles.

France (1984, 2000) have claimed the cup twice; the Soviet Union (1960), Italy (1968), Czechoslovakia (1976), Netherlands (1988), Denmark (1992) and Greece (2004) complete the nine-strong list of former winners.

UEFA European Championship finals
01/07/2012 Spain 4-0 Italy – Kyiv
29/06/2008 Germany 0-1 Spain – Vienna
04/07/2004 Portugal 0-1 Greece – Lisbon
02/07/2000 France 2-1 Italy (aet) – Rotterdam
30/06/1996 Czech Republic 1-2 Germany (aet) – London
26/06/1992 Denmark 2-0 Germany – Gothenburg
25/06/1988 USSR 0-2 Netherlands – Munich
27/06/1984 France 2-0 Spain – Paris
22/06/1980 Belgium 1-2 West Germany – Rome
20/06/1976 Czechoslovakia 2-2 West Germany (aet, 5-3 pens) – Belgrade
18/06/1972 West Germany 3-0 USSR – Brussels
08/06/1968 Italy 1-1 Yugoslavia (aet) – Rome
10/06/1968 Italy 2-0 Yugoslavia (replay) – Rome
21/06/1964 Spain 2-1 USSR – Madrid
10/07/1960 USSR 2-1 Yugoslavia (aet) – Paris