UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Torres ends Spain's long wait for glory in EURO 2008 final win against Germany

Germany 0-1 Spain
Fernando Torres's first-half strike earned Spain a first UEFA European Championship crown in 44 years.

Highlights: Spain's 2008 glory

Spain became European champions for the second time after Fernando Torres's first-half goal in Vienna proved enough to defeat Germany in the final of UEFA EURO 2008.

Spain had won their only previous piece of silverware in this competition in 1964 and had not been beyond the quarter-finals of any tournament in 24 years, yet Luis Aragonés's men chose to use that history as an inspiration rather than a burden. After a strong start from Germany, seeking a fourth title themselves, Spain were the more dangerous side throughout an entertaining final at the Ernst-Happel-Stadion although it took just one goal – in the 33rd minute, courtesy of Torres's pace, perseverance and unerring finish – to end their long wait.

EURO 2008: All you need to know

Germany received a significant boost before kick-off with captain Michael Ballack included despite a much-publicised calf problem, and, perhaps buoyed by that news, Joachim Löw's team settled quickly. Much had been made of the contrast in style between the sides yet in the opening exchanges it was Germany whose passing looked crisper, Miroslav Klose and Thomas Hitzlsperger failing to make the most of glimpses of goal. Meanwhile Spain, shorn of four-goal leading scorer David Villa due to a thigh injury, struggled to find their feet in a new 4-5-1 formation in which Cesc Fàbregas was rewarded for a fine semi-final display with a starting place.

Spain national anthem: EURO 2008 final

As an indicator of the pattern of the match, however, Germany's bright beginning proved misleading. Spain soon worked their way into the contest, with Germany goalkeeper Jens Lehmann – becoming, at 38, the oldest player to appear in a UEFA European Championship final – forced into action for the first time in the 14th minute. Although his instinctive save came when his own defender, Christoph Metzelder, inadvertently deflected Andrés Iniesta's cross towards his own goal, Xavi Hernández's fine through pass had unpicked the Germany defence and showed the Spanish were finding their feet.

Right-back Sergio Ramos was then allowed to cut inside and deliver a deep cross, Torres peeling away from Per Mertesacker to create space for the header only for the right-hand post to come to Lehmann's rescue. The warning signs were there for Germany, yet they failed to heed them and duly fell behind three minutes past the half-hour. Again Xavi was the architect, playing a pass in behind the Germany back line towards Torres, who outmuscled a hesitant Philipp Lahm and clipped the ball over the diving Lehmann and just inside the far post. David Silva then volleyed over Iniesta's cross when given time and space inside the area as Spain threatened to increase their lead.

David Villa: EURO 2008 top scorer

Spain had more openings in the early stages of the second half, Lehmann getting the merest of touches to Xavi's low shot before Ramos nearly guided in Silva's drive from the resulting corner. Yet a hint of the threat Germany still posed arrived on the hour, substitute Marcell Jansen and Bastian Schweinsteiger combining for Ballack to shoot centimetres wide. Klose then deflected a Schweinsteiger effort past the post and, in response to Germany's renewed menace, Spain coach Aragonés promptly introduced Xabi Alonso and Santi Cazorla in place of Fàbregas and Silva. The switches reinvigorated Spain instantly, Lehmann making smart stops from Ramos and Iniesta while Torsten Frings blocked another Iniesta effort on the line.

As the final moved into the last 20 minutes, Spain had had seven shots on goal to Germany's one, but with Die Mannschaft having turned virtually one in two of their attempts on target into goals en route to the final, that would have been scant consolation to Aragonés and his side. In the event, however, it was Spain who continued to carve out chances as the match reached its conclusion, Marcos Senna narrowly failing to apply the finishing touch to an unselfish header from substitute Daniel Güiza – but the celebrations would not be delayed much longer.


Luis Aragonés is lifted up by his players after the EURO 2008 final
Luis Aragonés is lifted up by his players after the EURO 2008 finalGetty Images

Luis Aragonés, Spain coach: "Many people will look at this Spain team because it has been a model for playing football. I think all football lovers want people to make good combinations, to get into the penalty area and to score goals. At the beginning I said that if we managed this squad well, we would be champions. The team just thought I was trying to give them confidence. I just hope Spain carry on in this way and have many more victories. I am delighted. I usually don't show what I feel, but I'm full inside. I don't get very emotional but there were moments out there from some of my players that filled me with emotion. I'm like that – I don't show it but I'm so full of feelings. That's my way of showing it – other people might be more expressive."

Xavi Hernández, Spain midfielder: "Luis [Aragonés] was the turning point. He took a gamble on the little guys; putting players like [Andrés] Iniesta, [Santi] Cazorla, Cesc Fàbregas, [David] Silva and [David] Villa in the team. Perhaps that's a word used too often in football but the truth is that the football we played to win in 2008 was beautiful; not just the attacking side of things but how we were set up on the pitch. We were crowned champions without having to call upon the legendary 'furia española' (Spanish fury). We won playing a style of touch football combined with talented players. Luis [Aragonés] liked to play the game like [Johan] Cruyff."

Joachim Löw, Germany coach: "[Spain] deserved to win. We're disappointed that we didn't win but I think we can be satisfied with the tournament as a whole. The team performed very well over the 45 days we've spent together, we had a lot of fun and enjoyed it, but we were very ambitious too. This defeat is going to be an incentive to work hard over the next two years in a number of areas and to improve, so that in qualifying we can reach our target of playing in the [FIFA] World Cup."

EURO 2008: Team of the Tournament


Spain with the trophy after their EURO 2008 final win
Spain with the trophy after their EURO 2008 final winDPA/AFP

Germany: Lehmann; Lahm (Jansen 46), Metzelder, Mertesacker, Friedrich; Podolski, Hitzlsperger (Kuranyi 58), Ballack (c), Frings, Schweinsteiger; Klose (Gómez 79)
: Enke, Adler, Fritz, Westermann, Rolfes, Neuville, Trochowski, Borowski, Odonkor
: Joachim Löw

Spain: Casillas (c); Capdevila, Puyol, Marchena, Ramos; Silva (Cazorla 66), Fàbregas (Xabi Alonso 63), Senna, Xavi, Iniesta; Torres (Güiza 78)
: Palop, Reina, Raúl Albiol, Navarro, Villa, Sergio García, Arbeloa, Juanito, De La Red
: Luis Aragonés

Referee: Roberto Rosetti (Italy)

Man of the Match: Fernando Torres (Spain)