UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Torres receives adidas Golden Boot

Spain and Chelsea FC's Fernando Torres has been presented with the UEFA EURO 2012 adidas Golden Boot award ahead of his club's game against FC Shakhtar Donetsk.

Fernando Torres is all smiles after being presented with the adidas Golden Boot award
Fernando Torres is all smiles after being presented with the adidas Golden Boot award ©adidas

Spain and Chelsea FC striker Fernando Torres has been presented with the adidas Golden Boot award he won at UEFA EURO 2012.

Torres helped Spain retain their UEFA European Championship crown with three goals in Poland and Ukraine, including one in the 4-0 final win against Italy in Kyiv. He picked up the accolade on the eve of Chelsea's UEFA Champions League Group E game against FC Shakhtar Donetsk.

The 28-year-old finished tied with five other players in the scoring chart at this summer's tournament. Torres and Germany's Mario Gomez also had one assist apiece, giving them the edge. The Spanish international took the Golden Boot honour, however, having played fewer minutes (189) at the finals than Gomez (282), his goals coming at one every 63 minutes*.

His contribution in the closing stages of the final on 1 July, when he came on to become the first player to register in two EURO showpieces before teeing up another for Chelsea colleague Juan Mata, therefore proved decisive.

Torres is only the third player to finish leading scorer and lift the Henri Delaunay Cup after Spain team-mate David Villa in 2008 and Denmark's Henrik Larsen, who earned a share of the scoring prize in 1992.

*When players finish level on goals the following criteria are applied, in this order, to determine who wins the adidas Golden Boot:
a) highest number of assists;
b) fewest minutes played.
NB: Only goals scored in normal or extra time count towards a player's tournament total – penalties scored in a shoot-out do not.

UEFA EURO 2012 final tournament top scorers


Fernando Torres (Spain)
Mario Gomez (Germany)
Mario Balotelli (Italy)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Alan Dzagoev (Russia)
Mario Mandžukić (Croatia)

Nicklas Bendtner (Denmark)
Cesc Fàbregas (Spain)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
Petr Jiráček (Czech Republic)
Michael Krohn-Dehli (Denmark)
Václav Pilař (Czech Republic)
Dimitris Salpingidis (Greece)
Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Xabi Alonso (Spain)
David Silva (Spain)

UEFA European Championship finals – top scorers, year by year
(1960–1976: from semi-finals; 1980–2008: from final tournament group stage)
2008: David Villa (Spain) 4
2004: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic) 5
2000: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milošević (Yugoslavia) 5
1996: Alan Shearer (England) 5
1992: Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Thomas Brolin (Sweden), Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinze Riedle (Germany) 3
1988: Marco van Basten (Netherlands) 5
1984: Michel Platini (France) 9
1980: Klaus Allofs (West Germany) 3
1976: Dieter Müller (West Germany) 4
1972: Gerd Müller (West Germany) 4
1968: Dragan Džajić (Yugoslavia) 2
1964: Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Dezső Novák (Hungary), Jesús María Pereda (Spain) 2
1960: Milan Galić (Yugoslavia), François Heutte (France), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Dražan Jerković (Yugoslavia), Viktor Ponedelnik (Soviet Union) 2

UEFA European Championship finals – overall top scorers
9: Michel Platini (France)
7: Alan Shearer (England)
6: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Thierry Henry (France), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Nuno Gomes (Portugal), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands)
5: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic), Jürgen Klinsmann (Germany), Savo Milošević (Serbia), Wayne Rooney (England), Marco van Basten (Netherlands), Zinédine Zidane (France)

Selected for you