UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Stade Bollaert-Delelis

Stade Bollaert-Delelis was rebuilt ahead of UEFA EURO 2016.

Stade Bollaert-Delelis ©Getty Images

Stade Bollaert-Delelis
UEFA capacity:
Tenants: RC Lens
Reopened: August 2015 (original opened in June 1933)

• One of France's most iconic football landmarks, the ground was originally named after the former commercial director of the Lens Mining Company, Félix Bollaert.

• The suffix Delelis was officially added in September 2012, a few days after the death of André Delelis – mayor of the city from 1966 to 1998, and a diehard supporter of the club.

• Built by unemployed miners, the venue originally possessed an oval shape but began to take on a rectangular form when the first of four new stands was unveiled in 1976.

• The stadium underwent renovation work and improvements ahead of both the 1984 UEFA European Championship and 1998 FIFA World Cup, and was also used during the 2007 Rugby World Cup. The rebuilding programme ahead of UEFA EURO 2016 will last until late 2015.

• Stade Bollaert-Delelis holds the rare distinction of being able to accommodate almost the entire population of the town where it is located, with Lens home to around 36,000 inhabitants.

UEFA EURO 2016 matches
Group stage
11/06/16, 15.00: Albania v Switzerland
16/06/16, 15.00: England v Wales
21/06/16, 21.00: Czech Republic v Turkey

Round of 16
25/06/16, 21.00: WD v 3B/E/F

All kick-off times CET.