UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Cristiano Ronaldo makes EURO goals history

Cristiano Ronaldo has become the first player to score in four UEFA European Championship final tournaments and is just one goal behind Michel Platini's record total of nine.

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates his history-making first goal against Hungary
Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates his history-making first goal against Hungary ©Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo's goals against Hungary have made him the first player to score in four UEFA European Championship final tournaments.

Both Ronaldo and Zlatan Ibrahimović struck in the 2004, 2008 and 2012 final tournaments, and now the Portugal forward has gone one better. Coincidentally, in the Hungary match, Ronado also set a new record of 17 finals appearances in this competition.

In all Ronaldo has eight finals goals, one behind the total Platini managed solely in 1984. He will have the chance to claim that record too in the knockout phase.

England's Alan Shearer
England's Alan Shearer©Getty Images

Top scorers at EURO final tournaments
9: Michel Platini (France)
8: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
7: Alan Shearer (England)
6: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
6: Thierry Henry (France)
6: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands)
6: Nuno Gomes (Portugal)
6: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands)

Players who have scored at three or more UEFA European Championship final tournaments

Ronaldo’s EURO goals

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2004 v Greece, Netherlands
2008 v Czech Republic
2012 v Netherlands (2), Czech Republic
2016 v Hungary (2)

Nuno Gomes (Portugal)
2000 v England, Turkey (2), France
2004 v Spain
2008 v Germany

Thierry Henry (France)
2000 v Denmark, Czech Republic, Portugal
2004 v Switzerland (2)
2008 v Netherlands

Zlatan Ibrahimović’s EURO goals

Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden)
2004 v Bulgaria, Italy
2008 v Greece, Spain
2012 v Ukraine, France

Jürgen Klinsmann (Germany)
1988 v Denmark
1992 v Netherlands
1996 v Russia (2), Croatia

Hélder Postiga (Portugal)
2004 v England
2008 v Germany
2012 v Denmark

Vladimír Šmicer (Czech Republic)
1996 v Russia
2000 v Denmark (2)
2004 v Netherlands

Michel Platini in 1984
Michel Platini in 1984©Getty Images

Tournament top scorers
1960: 2 François Heutte (France), Viktor Ponedelnik (USSR), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Drazen Jerković (Yugoslavia), Milan Galić (Yugoslavia)
1964: 2 Jesús Pereda (Spain), Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Dezső Novák (Hungary)
1968: 2 Dragan Džajić (Yugoslavia)
1972: 4 Gerd Müller (West Germany)
1976: 4 Dieter Müller (West Germany)
1980: 3 Klaus Allofs (West Germany)
1984: 9 Michel Platini (France)
1988: 5 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1992: 3 Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karlheinz Riedle (Germany), Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Tomas Brolin (Sweden)
1996: 5 Alan Shearer (England)
2000: 5 Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milošević (Yugoslavia)
2004: 5 Milan Baroš (Czech Republic)
2008: 4 David Villa (Spain)
2012: 3 Fernando Torres (Spain), Alan Dzagoev (Russia), Mario Mandžukić (Croatia), Mario Gomez (Germany), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Highest scoring teams, tournament by tournament
1960: Yugoslavia 6
1964: Spain, Russia, Hungary 4
1968: Italy 3
1972: West Germany 5
1976: West Germany 6
1980: West Germany 6
1984: France 14
1988: Netherlands 8
1992: Germany 7
1996: Germany 10
2000: France, Netherlands 13
2004: England, Czech Republic 10
2008: Spain 12
2012: Spain 12