UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Portugal become tenth different EURO winner

Portugal, 1-0 winners after extra time against hosts France in the UEFA EURO 2016 final, are the tenth country to have captured the Henri Delaunay Cup.

Portugal celebrate
Portugal celebrate ©Getty Images

Portugal are the tenth different nation to win the UEFA European Championship, joining six other countries in having lifted the Henri Delaunay Cup once.

Portugal – who had lost the 2004 final to Greece on home soil – beat hosts France 1-0 in Saint-Denis on Sunday for their first ever major tournament triumph, Éder scoring in the second period of extra time. Greece, Denmark, the Netherlands, Czechoslovakia, Italy and the Soviet Union also have one EURO title to their name.

Only Spain and Germany, with three Henri Delaunay Cups apiece, and this year's runners-up France have been crowned Europe's finest more than once.

UEFA European Championship wins
3 Germany (1972*, 1980*, 1996)
3 Spain (1964, 2008, 2012)
2 France (1984, 2000)
1 Portugal (2016)
1 Greece (2004)
1 Denmark (1992)
1 Netherlands (1988)
1 Czechoslovakia (1976)
1 Italy (1968)
1 Soviet Union (1960)

*As West Germany