UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Griezmann leaves Golden Boot rivals trailing in his wake

Antoine Griezmann has half a foot in the adidas Golden Boot after taking his UEFA EURO 2016 tally to six goals – a single tournament haul only one man has ever bettered.

Griezmann leaves Golden Boot rivals trailing in his wake
Griezmann leaves Golden Boot rivals trailing in his wake ©Getty Images

Antoine Griezmann has established a three-goal cushion at the top of the adidas Golden Boot standings after hitting his fifth and sixth goals of the tournament as France beat Germany 2-0 to reach Sunday's final.

The Atlético Madrid forward, who missed a penalty in May's UEFA Champions League final, converted from the spot on the stroke of half-time in Marseille. Midway through Thursday's second period he then poked in a second, his sixth of UEFA EURO 2016. Only one man, nine-goal Michel Platini in 1984, has registered more at a single finals.

Cristiano Ronaldo, in his fourth EURO, equalled Platini's overall record on Wednesday as Portugal booked their place in the Saint-Denis showpiece. Ronaldo heads a group of six players on three goals, including team-mate Nani and two of Griezmann's France colleagues, Olivier Giroud and Dimitri Payet.

All of them are likely to be involved on Sunday but it will take a hat-trick – the first at a EURO since David Villa in 2008 – to deny Griezmann the adidas Golden Boot.
Assists are used to separate players on the same number of goals, before minutes played are then taken into consideration.

Golden Boot leaders *
1 Antoine Griezmann, France: 6 goals (2 assists, 435 minutes)
2 Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal: 3 goals (3 assists, 600 minutes)
3 Olivier Giroud, France: 3 goals (2 assists, 378 minutes)
4 Dimitri Payet, France: 3 goals (2 assists, 448 minutes) 
5 Gareth Bale, Wales: 3 goals (1 assist, 533 minutes)
6 Nani, Portugal: 3 goals (1 assist, 586 minutes)
7 Álvaro Morata, Spain: 3 goals (0 assists; 289 minutes)

NB: Only goals scored in normal or extra time count towards a player's tournament haul – penalties in a shoot-out do not.

*Accurate as of 22.50CET on Thursday 7 July

Fernando Torres won the adidas Golden Boot at UEFA EURO 2012
Fernando Torres won the adidas Golden Boot at UEFA EURO 2012©adidas

Previous UEFA European Championship top scorers
(1960–1976: from semi-finals; 1980–2008: from final tournament group stage)
2012: Fernando Torres (Spain) 3
2008: David Villa (Spain) 4
2004: Milan Baroš (Czech Republic) 5
2000: Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milošević (Yugoslavia) 5
1996: Alan Shearer (England) 5
1992: Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Thomas Brolin (Sweden), Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinze Riedle (Germany) 3
1988: Marco van Basten (Netherlands) 5
1984: Michel Platini (France) 9
1980: Klaus Allofs (West Germany) 3
1976: Dieter Müller (West Germany) 4
1972: Gerd Müller (West Germany) 4
1968: Dragan Džajić (Yugoslavia) 2
1964: Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Dezső Novák (Hungary), Jesús María Pereda (Spain) 2
1960: Milan Galić (Yugoslavia), François Heutte (France), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Dražan Jerković (Yugoslavia), Viktor Ponedelnik (Soviet Union) 2