UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament draw

The final tournament draw took place in Bucharest on Saturday 30 November.

The draw for the UEFA EURO 2020 final tournament took place at ROMEXPO in Bucharest from 18:00 CET on Saturday 30 November 2019.

Initially planned to open in Rome on 12 June 2020, UEFA EURO 2020 was postponed in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Now taking place from 11 June to 11 July 2021, all 12 host cities will stage the same fixtures as originally planned.

The group stage runs – with up to four matches a day – until 23 June (last matches in each group played simultaneously). The top two in each group and the four best runners-up progress to the knockout stage.

Download full fixture PDF here


Friday 11 June
Group A: Turkey vs Italy (21:00, Rome)

Saturday 12 June
Group A: Wales vs Switzerland (15:00, Baku)
Group B: Denmark vs Finland (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Belgium vs Russia (21:00, St Petersburg)

Sunday 13 June
Group D: England vs Croatia (15:00, Wembley)
Group C: Austria vs North Macedonia (18:00, Bucharest)
Group C: Netherlands vs Ukraine (21:00, Amsterdam)

Monday 14 June
Group D: Scotland vs Czech Republic (15:00, Glasgow)
Group E: Poland vs Slovakia (18:00, Dublin)
Group E: Spain vs Sweden (21:00, Bilbao)

Tuesday 15 June
Group F: Hungary vs Portugal (18:00, Budapest)
Group F: France vs Germany (21:00, Munich)

Wednesday 16 June
Group B: Finland vs Russia (15:00, St Petersburg)
Group A: Turkey vs Wales (18:00, Baku)
Group A: Italy vs Switzerland (21:00, Rome)

Thursday 17 June
Group C: Ukraine vs North Macedonia (15:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Denmark vs Belgium (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group C: Netherlands vs Austria (21:00, Amsterdam)

Friday 18 June
Group E: Sweden vs Slovakia (15:00, Dublin)
Group D: Croatia vs Czech Republic (18:00, Glasgow)
Group D: England vs Scotland (21:00, London)

Saturday 19 June
Group F: Hungary vs France (15:00, Budapest)
Group F: Portugal vs Germany (18:00, Munich)
Group E: Spain vs Poland (21:00, Bilbao)

Sunday 20 June
Group A: Italy vs Wales (18:00, Rome)
Group A: Switzerland vs Turkey (18:00, Baku)

Monday 21 June
Group C: North Macedonia vs Netherlands (18:00, Amsterdam)
Group C: Ukraine vs Austria (18:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Russia vs Denmark (21:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Finland vs Belgium (21:00, St Petersburg)

Tuesday 22 June
Group D: Czech Republic vs England (21:00, London)
Group D: Croatia vs Scotland (21:00, Glasgow)

Wednesday 23 June
Group E: Slovakia vs Spain (18:00, Bilbao)
Group E: Sweden vs Poland (18:00, Dublin)
Group F: Germany vs Hungary (21:00, Munich)
Group F: Portugal vs France (21:00, Budapest)

Top two in each group plus four best third-placed teams go through.

Rest days on 24 and 25 June


Round of 16

Saturday 26 June
1: 2A vs 2B (18:00, Amsterdam)
2: 1A vs 2C (21:00, London

Sunday 27 June
3: 1C vs 3D/E/F (18:00, Budapest)
4: 1B vs 3A/D/E/F (21:00, Bilbao)

Monday 28 June
5: 2D vs 2E (18:00, Copenhagen)
6: 1F vs 3A/B/C (21:00, Bucharest)

Tuesday 29 June
7: 1D vs 2F (18:00, Dublin)
8: 1E vs 3A/B/C/D (21:00, Glasgow)

Rest days on 30 June and 1 July


Friday 2 July
QF1: Winner 6 vs Winner 5 (18:00, Saint Petersburg)
QF2: Winner 4 vs Winner 2 (21:00, Munich)

Saturday 3 July
QF3: Winner 1 vs Winner 3 (18:00, Baku)
QF4: Winner 8 vs Winner 7 (21:00, Rome)

Rest days on 4 and 5 July 


Tuesday 6 July
SF1: Winner QF1 vs Winner QF2 (21:00, London)

Wednesday 7 July
SF2: Winner QF4 vs Winner QF3 (21:00, London)

Rest days on 8, 9, 10 July 


Sunday 11 July
Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (21:00, London)


UEFA EURO 2020 group stage

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

Play-off finals

Path A: Hungary 2-1 Iceland
Path B: Northern Ireland 1-2 Slovakia
Path C: Serbia 1-1 Scotland (pens: 4-5)
Path D: Georgia 0-1 North Macedonia

Play-off semi-finals

These were confirmed at a separate draw in Nyon on 22 November 2019:

Path A: Iceland 2-1 Romania, Bulgaria 1-3 Hungary
Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina 1-1 Northern Ireland (pens: 3-4), Slovakia 0-0 Republic of Ireland (pens: 4-2)
Path C: Scotland 0-0 Israel (pens: 5-3), Norway 1-2 Serbia
Path D: Georgia 1-0 Belarus, North Macedonia 2-1 Kosovo

Key points


What were the pots?

Seedings were based on overall European Qualifiers rankings:

Pot 1
Italy (hosts)
England (hosts)
Germany (hosts)
Spain (hosts)

Pot 2
Netherlands (hosts)
Russia (hosts)

Pot 3
Denmark (hosts)
Czech Republic

Pot 4
Play-off winner A (Iceland, Bulgaria, Hungary or Romania)
Play-off winner B (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Republic of Ireland or Northern Ireland)
Play-off winner C (Scotland, Norway, Serbia or Israel)
Play-off winner D (Georgia, North Macedonia, Kosovo or Belarus)

How did the draw work?

  • The draw involved the two-top finishers in the ten qualifying groups and the eventual four play-off winners. None of the 12 host nations qualify automatically.
  • Seedings were based on overall rankings based on the qualifying groups by the following criteria (results against teams in sixth place were discarded):

a) Final position in group
b) Points
c) Goal difference
d) Goals scored
e) Away goals scored
f) Number of wins
g) Number of away wins
h) Lower disciplinary points total (3 points for red card including for second booking, 1 point for single yellow card for a player in a match)
i) Position in overall UEFA Nations League rankings

  • Host nations that qualify are placed automatically in the following groups.

Group A: Italy (Stadio Olimpico, Rome)*
Group B: Russia (Saint Petersburg Stadium, St Petersburg), Denmark* (Parken Stadium, Copenhagen)
Group C: Netherlands (Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam)*
Group D: England (Wembley Stadium, London)*, Scotland** (Hampden Park, Glasgow)
Group E: Spain (Estadio de San Mamés, Bilbao)*
Group F: Germany (Fußball Arena München, Munich)*, Hungary** (Puskás Aréna, Budapest)

*Guaranteed to play all three group stage games at home having qualified via the European Qualifiers.
**Qualified through play-offs and were placed in that group with two home games (will play away to the other group host that qualified automatically)

  • As Russia and Denmark both reached UEFA EURO 2020 via the European Qualifiers, an additional draw was held on 22 November 2019 to decide which team plays all three group stage games at home; Denmark will have three group home matches and Russia two.
  • Due to decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee decisions valid at the time of the draw, the following teams could not be drawn together in the group stage:
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina / Kosovo*
    • Serbia / Kosovo*
    • Russia / Kosovo*
    • Ukraine / Russia (the restriction also applied to St Petersburg as group match venue)
    *These clashes could not have happened during the group stage, because Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, and Serbia were all in the play-offs and therefore in the same pot. Kosovo were part of play-off Path D and were assigned to play in Group C or F.
  • All restrictions applied only to the group stage. It could therefore not be excluded that the above-mentioned teams would meet during the knockout stage of the tournament.

Final tournament match schedule