UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Holders USSR too strong for Denmark in EURO 1964 semi

Denmark 0-3 USSR
Viktor Ponedelnik and Valentin Ivanov struck as the holders reached a second successive final.

Viktor Ponedelnik (second right) was on target for the USSR
Viktor Ponedelnik (second right) was on target for the USSR ©Hulton Archive

Holders the Soviet Union proved a step too far for the amateurs of Denmark, beaten 3-0 in the semi-finals of the 1964 UEFA European Championship.

Denmark had been in fine form en route to the final tournament but could not match a USSR outfit which still included the likes of Viktor Ponedelnik, Lev Yashin and Valentin Ivanov, members of the side which had triumphed in the inaugural edition of the competition in France four years earlier.

EURO 1964: All you need to know

Ole Madsen had previously been among Denmark's star performers, scoring six goals against Luxembourg in the previous round, but found no way past Yashin and the imposing Albert Schesternev in Barcelona. Indeed, the holders remained a formidable outfit further strengthened by the diminutive Igor Chislenko, later a major player at the 1966 FIFA World Cup, and smooth midfield man Valeri Voronin.

Highlights: Best goals of EURO 1964

The latter opened the scoring with a high shot following a corner, but the established double act soon took over. Ponedelnik converted Chislenko's fine pass before Ivanov repeated his party piece by beating three men and shooting past the goalkeeper's right hand. Denmark battled admirably but USSR were simply too strong.

EURO 1964: Team of the Tournament


Denmark: Leif Nielsen; Jens Hansen, Kaj Hansen, Bent Hansen, Larsen; Erling Nielsen, Bertelsen, Sørensen; Madsen (c), Thorst, Danielsen
Substitutes: none
Coach: Poul Petersen

USSR: Yashin; Shustikov, Shesternyov, Mudrik, Anichkin; Voronin, Chislenko, Ivanov (c), Ponedelnik, Gusarov, Khusainov
Substitutes: none
Coach: Konstantin Beskov

Referee: Rosario Lo Bello (Italy)