UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Holders Denmark sign off with Turkey win in EURO '96 Group D

Turkey 0-3 Denmark
The holders produced an emphatic display but nevertheless missed out on the last eight.

Brian Laudrup celebrates scoring against Turkey at Hillsborough
Brian Laudrup celebrates scoring against Turkey at Hillsborough Icon Sport via Getty Images

Denmark ended their four-year reign as European champions with a stylish 3-0 triumph over Turkey.

Any hopes the EURO '92 winners had of extending their defence into the quarter-finals were ended by Portugal's 3-0 win against Croatia, which meant it was those two teams who would go through from Group D. Richard Møller-Nielsen's team were not to know, though, and duly signed off in impressive fashion. Goalless at half-time, Brian Laudrup then came to the fore with goals either side of Allan Nielsen's effort.

EURO '96: All you need to know

Brian Laudrup had already been one of the stars of the tournament even before another virtuoso display which gathered pace five minutes after the interval; the Denmark No11 raced on to Erik Bo Andersen's flick-on, capitalised on Ogün Temizkanoğlu's missed tackle and rounded goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel.

The best goals of EURO '96

Having already missed one chance to double Denmark's lead, Nielsen made no mistake second time round, latching on to Michael Laudrup's through ball before finishing past Rüştü Reçber with a low shot. It was fitting that Brian Laudrup, once again profiting from Andersen's build-up play, rounded off the scoring with six minutes left to ensure his team's tremendous travelling support headed home disappointed but not disheartened. Turkey, meanwhile, exited their first finals without a point or a goal to their name.

EURO '96: Team of the Tournament


Denmark coach Richard Møller Nielsen and his team
Denmark coach Richard Møller Nielsen and his teamIcon Sport via Getty Images

Turkey: Rüştü; Alpay, Ogün, Vedat; Abdullah, Tugay, Tayfun, Recep (c) (Bülent 68), Hami; Hakan Şükür (Arif 46), Orhan (Saffet 68)
Substitutes: Adnan, Oğuz, Faruk, Zafer, Yalçin, Şanver
Coach: Fatih Terim

Denmark: Schmeichel; Schjønberg (Larsen 46), Rieper, Jes Høgh, Helveg; Allan Nielsen, Brian Steen Nielsen, Michael Laudrup (c), Thomsen; Brian Laudrup, Erik Bo Andersen (Søren Andersen 88)
Substitutes: Olsen, Piechnik, Risager, Lars Høgh, Vilfort, Tøfting, Laursen, Krogh
Coach: Richard Møller Nielsen

Referee: Nikolai Levnikov (Russia)

Man of the Match: Brian Laudrup (Denmark)