UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Brolin strike sees EURO 1992 Sweden dent Denmark's Group 1 dreams

Sweden 1-0 Denmark
Tomas Brolin's winner brought the home fans to their feet.

Sweden celebrate Tomas Brolin's goal against Denmark
Sweden celebrate Tomas Brolin's goal against Denmark ©Getty Images

Tomas Brolin scored the winner as Sweden surged to the top of Group A, but defeat was no disgrace for lively Denmark.

With France and England playing out a goalless draw in the section's earlier game, Parma FC midfielder Brolin helped send his side top, applying the finish to a sharp Swedish move. Jonas Thern's excellent pass found Martin Dahlin, who beat Kent Nielsen and put in a cross which Brolin dispatched under pressure from Lars Olsen.

EURO 1992: All you need to know

The hosts were always expected to beat EURO '92's late entrants, but the game was much closer – and more exciting – than most predicted. Sweden coach Tommy Svensson insisted on an attacking style which looked to make the best use of budding talents like Brolin, Dahlin, Kennet Andersson and Anders Limpar. Denmark, though, were not about to sit back and soak up pressure.

EURO '92 highlights: Spotlight on Peter Schmeichel

Flemming Povlsen shot over the bar then back-heeled to John Sivebæk, whose cross went off Kim Vilfort's chest straight to Thomas Ravelli, who later saved Kim Christofte's powerful free-kick. At the other end, Dahlin fired over, Peter Schmeichel made a full-length save from Limpar, and Olsen blocked Brolin's close-range shot on the line.

Brolin's goal settled matters, though, and Denmark must beat France next time out to have any hope of advancing. A draw would be enough for Sweden.

EURO 1992: Team of the Tournament


Denmark goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel during the Sweden game
Denmark goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel during the Sweden gameGetty Images

Sweden: Ravelli; Björklund, Patrik Andersson, Jan Eriksson, Roland Nilsson; Limpar (Erlingmark 90), Schwarz, Thern (c), Ingesson; Dahlin (Ekström 77), Brolin
Substitutes: Rehn, Lars Eriksson, Mikael Nilsson, Jansson, Kennet Andersson, Ljung, Joakim Nilsson
Coach: Tommy Svensson

Denmark: Schmeichel; Andersen, Christofte, Lars Olsen (c), Kent Nielsen, Sivebæk; Laudrup, Jensen (Larsen 63), Vilfort; Christensen (Frank 51), Povlsen
Substitutes: Mølby, Elstrup, Piechnik, Krogh, Christiansen, Peter Nielsen, Bruun
Coach: Richard Møller Nielsen

Referee: Aron Schmidhuber (Germany)