UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Four debutants in Belgium selection

Dedryck Boyata, Yassine El Ghanassy, Marvin Ogunjimi and Dries Mertens have been drafted by Belgium for the first time for the matches against Kazakhstan and Austria.

Dedryck Boyata (right) is one of four new names in the Belgium squad
Dedryck Boyata (right) is one of four new names in the Belgium squad ©Getty Images

Belgium coach Georges Leekens has included four debutants in his 25-man squad for the UEFA EURO 2012 qualifiers against Kazakhstan and Austria on 8 and 12 October.

Manchester City FC defender Dedryck Boyata, 19, and KAA Gent forward Yassine El Ghanassy, 20, could debut for the Red Devils with 22-year-old KRC Genk forward Marvin Ogunjimi and FC Utrecht attacking midfielder Dries Mertens, 23, also called up.

Defender Thomas Vermaelen plus forwards Moussa Dembélé and Christian Benteke are injured while Vincent Kompany will be available to face Austria after serving a suspension against Kazakhstan. "We will try to bring something back with us from Kazakhstan," said Leekens.

Belgium squad
Logan Bailly (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Jean-François Gillet (AS Bari), Silvio Proto (RSC Anderlecht).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (AFC Ajax), Dedryck Boyata (Manchester City FC), Filip Daems (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), Olivier Deschacht (RSC Anderlecht), Guillaume Gillet (RSC Anderlecht), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City FC), Nicolas Lombaerts (FC Zenit St. Petersburg), Daniel Van Buyten (FC Bayern München), Jelle Van Damme (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC).

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (KRC Genk), Steven Defour (R. Standard de Liège), Marouane Fellaini (Everton FC), Dries Mertens (FC Utrecht), Timmy Simons (1. FC Nürnberg), Jan Vertonghen (AFC Ajax), Axel Witsel (R. Standard de Liège).

Forwards: Yassine El Ghanassy (KAA Gent), Eden Hazard (LOSC Lille Métropole), Jonathan Legear (RSC Anderlecht), Romelu Lukaku (RSC Anderlecht), Marvin Ogunjimi (KRC Genk), Jelle Vossen (KRC Genk).