UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

EURO 2016 hosts named on 28 May

The process for deciding the host association of UEFA EURO 2016 reaches a climax on 28 May in Geneva with the final bid presentations and resulting announcement ceremony.

EURO 2016 hosts named on 28 May
EURO 2016 hosts named on 28 May ©uefa.com 1998-2012. All rights reserved.

The UEFA Executive Committee will select the host association for UEFA EURO 2016 on Friday 28 May, the second day of its next meeting. The final bid presentations and the announcement ceremony will take place at the Espace Hippomène in Geneva.

The programme for the decision day is as follows:
09.30 Final presentation of the bids by the three candidates (the order was defined by a draw): each bidder will have 30 minutes for their presentation, and Turkey will take the stage first, followed by Italy then France.
11.45-13.00 Deliberation and voting by the UEFA Executive Committee
13.00 Announcement of the UEFA EURO 2016 host association by the UEFA president

The announcement of the host association will be followed by a news conference featuring the president of that association.

UEFA president Michel Platini (France), UEFA first vice-president Şenes Erzik (Turkey) and Executive Committee member Giancarlo Abete (Italy) will not be entitled to participate in the deliberation and voting process. Consequently, and according to the Statutes of UEFA, the second vice-president Geoffrey Thompson (England) will be chair of the meeting and will be allowed to vote together with the other 12 members of the Executive Committee.

There is a first round of voting where the bids must be ranked in order of first, second and third place. Third place gets one point, second place two points and first place three points plus a bonus two points. The bid with the lowest score is eliminated. If, after the first ballot, only one bidder remains (i.e. two are tied with the lowest number of votes) an intermediate ballot involving the two low-scoring bidders will ensue. If, in this intermediate ballot, both bidders receive the same number of points then the chair will determine which is excluded by means of a casting vote.

A second round of voting then takes place whereby each eligible member of the Executive Committee will vote for one of the two bidders. The bidder with the higher number of votes wins. In the event of a tie, the chair will decide which bidder is chosen as host association through a casting vote.

Click here for the UEFA European Football Championship 2014–16, bid regulations.

Media representatives wishing to attend the final bid presentations and announcement ceremony are requested to apply for accreditation by emailing accreditations@uefa.ch before Friday 21 May.

UEFA wishes to inform broadcast media that the live signal of the ceremony will be available via the EBU platform and can be booked through program@eurovision.net.

Media should also note there will be limited space reserved for ENG crews and photographers, making it of central importance to respect the accreditation deadline. Information about ordering telecommunications/ISDN lines in the media working area at the Espace Hippomène will be sent with the confirmation of accreditation.

The Executive Committee members entitled to participate in the deliberation and voting process are: Geoffrey Thompson (England), Ángel María Villar Llona (Spain), Marios N Lefkaritis (Cyprus), Dr Joseph Mifsud (Malta), Allan Hansen (Denmark), František Laurinec (Slovakia), Avraham Luzon (Israel), Dr Gilberto Madaíl (Portugal), Mircea Sandu (Romania), Grigoriy Surkis (Ukraine), Michael van Praag (Netherlands), Liutauras Varanavičius (Lithuania) and Dr Theo Zwanziger (Germany).