UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Portugal out to unseat Norway in Group H

UEFA.com has the latest team news as Portugal aim to catch Group H leaders Norway in UEFA EURO 2012 qualifying, when Denmark also look to close in on the pool summit.

Norway came out on top when they hosted Portugal back in September
Norway came out on top when they hosted Portugal back in September ©Getty Images

It is crunch time in Group H with a summit meeting that could go a long way to deciding who will automatically qualify for Poland and Ukraine next summer. Second-placed Portugal host leaders Norway, sitting three points adrift of their visitors, while Denmark – who are level with Paulo Bento's side – can enhance their qualification chances against bottom-placed Iceland. UEFA.com rounds up the team news.

4 June: Iceland v DenmarkPortugal v Norway

Latest standings

After an 11-month absence, Málaga CF midfielder Duda has earned a recall to the squad. The 30-year-old, who made the last of his 18 international appearances in Portugal's goalless draw with Brazil at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, will join a midfield selection including Sporting Clube de Portugal's André Santos and FC Porto's Rúben Micael, who scored twice on his international debut in a 2-0 friendly win against Finland in March.

Cristiano Ronaldo is also back after missing both friendlies against Chile (1-1) and Finland due to injury. "We are aware of our responsibility," said Bento. "We have a good opportunity to be at the top after this match. It's an important game."

Goalkeepers: Eduardo (Genoa CFC), Hugo Ventura (Portimonense SC), Rui Patrício (Sporting Clube de Portugal).

Defenders: Bruno Alves (FC Zenit St Petersburg), Fábio Coentrão (SL Benfica), João Pereira (Sporting Clube de Portugal), Pepe (Real Madrid CF), Ricardo Carvalho (Real Madrid CF), Rolando (FC Porto), Sílvio (SC Braga).

Midfielders: Duda (Málaga CF), André Santos (Sporting Clube de Portugal), Carlos Martins (SL Benfica), João Moutinho (FC Porto), Paulo Machado (Toulouse FC), Raul Meireles (Liverpool FC), Rúben Micael (FC Porto).

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF), Danny (FC Zenit St Petersburg), Hélder Postiga (Sporting Clube de Portugal), Hugo Almeida (Beşiktaş JK), Nani (Manchester United FC), Silvestre Varela (FC Porto).

Kasper Schmeichel, son of Danish goalkeeping legend Peter Schmeichel, may make his senior debut after being named in the 23-man squad. Morten Olsen put the Leeds United AFC No1's name down, and said: "We have watched him several times in the past year, and he has deserved the chance. There is keen competition in the goalkeeper position, and as a few others are out through injury, we saw this as an opportunity for Kasper."

Goalkeepers: Thomas Sørensen (Stoke City FC), Stephan Andersen (Brøndby IF), Kasper Schmeichel (Leeds United AFC).

Defenders: Daniel Wass (Brøndby IF), Lars Jacobsen (West Ham United FC), Simon Kjær (VfL Wolfsburg), Simon Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar), Bo Svensson (1. FSV Mainz 05), Leon Jessen (1. FC Kaiserslautern), Mathias Zanka (FC København).

Midfielders: Christian Poulsen (Liverpool FC), Jakob Poulsen (FC Midtjylland), William Kvist (FC København), Kasper Lorentzen (Randers FC), Niki Zimling (NEC Nijmegen), Thomas Enevoldsen (FC Groningen), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brøndby IF), Christian Eriksen (AFC Ajax).

Forwards: Dennis Rommedahl (Olympiacos FC), Lasse Schøne (NEC Nijmegen), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal FC), Mads Junker (Roda JC), Morten Skoubo (Roda JC).

Ólafur Jóhannesson has picked a 23-man squad that he hopes will bring a first win in the section. The group includes a number of players likely to feature in the UEFA European Under-21 Championship later in June, including striker Alfred Finnbogason, the least experienced squad member with three caps. History does not augur well for Iceland's hopes of that elusive first pool success – they have not beaten the Danes in 21 previous attempts.

Goalkeepers: Gunnleifur Gunnleifsson (FH Hafnarfjördur), Stefán Magnússon (Lilleström SK), Ingvar Kale (Breidablik).

Defenders: Hermann Hreidarsson (Portsmouth FC), Indridi Sigurdsson (Viking FK), Kristján Sigurdsson (Hönefoss BK), Birkir Már Saevarsson (SK Brann), Ragnar Sigurdsson (IFK Göteborg), Bjarni Eiríksson (Stabæk IF), Arnór Adalsteinsson (Breidablik), Jón Fjóluson (Fram Reykjavík), Haraldur Gudmundsson (Keflavík)*.

Midfielders: Aron Gunnarsson (Coventry City FC), Helgi Daníelsson (AIK Solna), Ólafur Skúlason (SönderjyskE), Rúrik Gíslason (Odense BK), Arnór Smárason (Esbjerg fB), Jóhann Gudmundsson (AZ Alkmaar), Gudmundur Kristjánsson (Breidablik), Gylfi Sigurdsson (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim).

Forwards: Eidur Gudjohnsen (Fulham FC), Heidar Helguson (Queens Park Rangers FC), Kolbeinn Sigthórsson (AZ Alkmaar), Alfred Finnbogason (KSC Lokeren OV).

There were no big surprises in Egil Olsen's squad for the trip Portugal, with the coach still aglow at the memory of his side's 1-0 win against their upcoming opponents last year. "In my opinion, Portugal are the world's best national team at the moment," said Olsen. "The best evidence to back that up is the way they beat Spain 4-0. The team is vastly improved from when we beat them." Just 18, midfielder Markus Henriksen received his first call-up, with Olsen noting: "He is a big talent, and I am sure he will rise to the occasion if called upon."

Goalkeepers: Rune Jarstein (Viking FK), Espen Bugge Pettersen (Molde FK), Jon Knudsen (Stabæk Fotball).

Defenders: Vadim Demidov (Real Sociedad de Fútbol), Brede Hangeland (Fulham FC), Tom Høgli (Tromsø IL), Jonathan Parr (Aalesunds FK), John Arne Riise (AS Roma), Espen Ruud (Odense BK), Kjetil Wæhler (Aalborg BK).

Midfielders: Christian Grindheim (sc Heerenveen), Henning Hauger (Stabæk Fotball), Markus Henriksen (Rosenborg BK), Ruben Yttergård Jenssen (Tromsø IL), Morten Gamst Pedersen (Blackburn Rovers FC), Bjørn Helge Riise (Sheffield United FC), Alexander Tettey (Stade Rennais FC), Simen Brenne (Odd Grenland).

Forwards: Mohammed Abdellaoue (Hannover 96), Daniel Braaten (Toulouse FC), John Carew (Stoke City FC), Erik Huseklepp (AS Bari).

Players in italics have withdrawn.
*Denotes replacement player.

Selected for you