UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Bilić names Croatia squad for Sweden friendly

Slaven Bilić said he wanted to give everyone a "respectable amount" of playing time after naming a 20-man squad for the Zagreb friendly with fellow UEFA EURO 2012 finalists Sweden.

Slaven Bilić has named a smaller squad than normal
Slaven Bilić has named a smaller squad than normal ©Getty Images

Croatia coach Slaven Bilić has selected a 20-man squad for the friendly against Sweden on 29 February in Zagreb.

"We didn't want to call up too many players because we want to give everyone a respectable amount of time on the pitch," said Bilić, who has left out FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk left-back Ivan Strinić. "He is still a national team player, but I would like to try out Vedran Ćorluka and Danijel Pranjić in that position."

Bilić added that "everything is looking much better now" in terms of personnel, but warned: "We are playing against serious opponents who also consider this a very important match. They are a tough, strong, well-organised team." Croatia finish their UEFA EURO 2012 preparations against Estonia in Rijeka on 25 May and against Norway in Oslo eight days later. Their first game at this summer's tournament is a contest with the Republic of Ireland in Group C on 10 June.

Goalkeepers: Stipe Pletikosa (FC Rostov), Danijel Subašić (HNK Hajduk Split), Ivan Kelava (GNK Dinamo Zagreb).

Defenders: Vedran Ćorluka (Tottenham Hotspur FC/Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Josip Šimunić (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Gordon Schildenfeld (Eintracht Frankfurt), Darijo Srna (FC Shakhtar Donetsk), Šime Vrsaljko (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Domagoj Vida (GNK Dinamo Zagreb), Danijel Pranjić (FC Bayern München).

Midfielders: Luka Modrić (Tottenham Hotspur FC), Ognjen Vukojević (FC Dynamo Kyiv), Tomislav Dujmović (FC Dinamo Moskva), Ivan Perišić (Borussia Dortmund), Ivan Rakitić (Sevilla FC), Niko Kranjčar (Tottenham Hotspur FC).

Forwards: Eduardo (FC Shakhtar Donetsk), Mario Mandžukić (VfL Wolfsburg), Nikica Jelavić (Everton FC), Ivica Olić (FC Bayern München).