UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Di Natale recalled for provisional Italy squad

Udinese Calcio striker Antonio Di Natale, not capped since the 2010 FIFA World Cup, has been named in Cesare Prandelli's provisional 32-man Italy squad for UEFA EURO 2012.

Antonio Di Natale has not played for Italy since the 2010 FIFA World Cup
Antonio Di Natale has not played for Italy since the 2010 FIFA World Cup ©AFP/Getty Images

Italy coach Cesare Prandelli has included 34-year-old striker Antonio Di Natale in his 32-man provisional squad for UEFA EURO 2012.

Di Natale fell short of topping the Serie A scoring charts for a third straight season but nevertheless found the net 23 times for Udinese Calcio this term. He now boasts 80 league goals in his last three campaigns, though he has not featured for the Azzurri since the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

There are other surprise inclusions in attack, with Fabio Borini confirmed in the list after making his debut in a friendly against United States in February. Mattia Destro, 21, earns his first call after scoring 12 goals for AC Siena this season.

In midfield, meanwhile, Bologna FC's Alessandro Diamanti, capped only once in a friendly game against Romania in November 2010, has also been named by Prandelli. The former West Ham United FC player scored seven goals with the Rossoblù this season. Also included are potential debutants like Emanuele Giaccherini, who won the Scudetto with Juventus this term, Atalanta BC pair Luca Cigarini and Ezequiel Schelotto, and 19-year-old Marco Verratti, who plays for Serie B high-fliers Pescara Calcio.

Italy open their Group C campaign against UEFA EURO 2008 champions Spain on 10 June before facing Croatia four days later and the Republic of Ireland on 18 June.

Provisional squad
Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Morgan De Sanctis (SSC Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Emiliano Viviano (US Città di Palermo).

Defenders: Ignazio Abate (AC Milan), Davide Astori (Cagliari Calcio) Federico Balzaretti (US Città di Palermo), Andrea Barzagli (Juventus), Salvatore Bocchetti (FC Rubin Kazan), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Domenico Criscito (FC Zenit Saint Petersburg), Christian Maggio (SSC Napoli), Angelo Obinze Ogbonna (Torino FC), Andrea Ranocchia (FC Internazionale Milano).

Midfielders: Luca Cigarini (Atalanta BC), Daniele De Rossi (AS Roma), Alessandro Diamanti (Bologna FC), Emanuele Giaccherini (Juventus), Claudio Marchisio (Juventus), Riccardo Montolivo (ACF Fiorentina), Thiago Motta (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Antonio Nocerino (AC Milan), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Ezequiel Schelotto (Atalanta BC), Marco Verratti (Pescara Calcio).

Forwards: Mario Balotelli (Manchester City FC), Fabio Borini (AS Roma), Antonio Cassano (AC Milan), Mattia Destro (AC Siena), Antonio Di Natale (Udinese Calcio), Sebastian Giovinco (FC Parma).