UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Cacau among omissions from final Germany squad

Cacau is one of four players left out of Joachim Löw's 23-man squad for next month's finals, with the VfB Stuttgart forward sanguine about missing out on his "greatest goal".

Cacau has been capped 23 times by Germany
Cacau has been capped 23 times by Germany ©Getty Images

Germany coach Joachim Löw has announced his final squad for UEFA EURO 2012, trimming his initial list from 27 players to 23.

Among the omissions are goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen and 18-year-old Julian Draxler, who made their senior international debuts in Saturday's 5-3 loss to Switzerland, while Borussia Dortmund midfielder Sven Bender and Cacau also miss out. The 31-year-old VfB Stuttgart striker, who has scored six goals in 23 appearances for Germany, was pragmatic after learning his fate.

"It was my greatest goal to play for Germany, as I did during the World Cup in 2010," said Cacau. "But from the beginning it was clear that there would be hard competition for the 23 places. I gave my best. Of course I am very disappointed, like the younger players, but I still feel part of the team and wish deeply from my heart that they have a great tournament."

Germany take on Israel on 31 May in their final friendly game before their UEFA EURO 2012 Group B campaign kicks off against Portugal in Lviv on 9 June.

Germany squad
Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Tim Wiese (SV Werder Bremen), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover 96).

Defenders: Holger Badstuber (FC Bayern München), Jérôme Boateng (FC Bayern München), Benedikt Höwedes (FC Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal FC).

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Toni Kroos (FC Bayern München), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid CF), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid CF), Marco Reus (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), André Schürrle (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern München), Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund), İlkay Gündoğan (Borussia Dortmund).

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (S.S. Lazio), Mario Gomez (FC Bayern München), Lukas Podolski (1. FC Köln).