The official website for European football


Soviet Union captain Igor Netto with the Henri Delaunay Cup in 1960 ©


Best result: winners 1960 (as Soviet Union)
Coach: Fabio Capello
Leading scorers: 
all-time – Oleh Blokhin (42 for Soviet Union); current – Aleksandr Kerzhakov (24)
Most appearances: all-time – Viktor Onopko (113 including 4 for Commonwealth of Independent States); current – Sergei Ignashevich (93)
Association formed: 1912
Nickname: None
Where they play: Various

Since the break-up of the Soviet Union – the inaugural winners of the UEFA European Championship, in 1960, and runners-up in 1964, 1972 and 1988 – Russia have been regular qualifiers for the four-yearly continental gathering, but only once have they made it through the group stage. That was in 2008, when Dutchman Guus Hiddink's attractive side reached the semi-finals. In post-Soviet days they qualified for the FIFA World Cups of 1994 and 2002, and again for Brazil 2014.

EURO pedigree
Matches played
Overall: P140 W79 D33 L28 F250 A120
Final tournament: P30 W12 D6 L12 F36 A39
Qualifying: P110 W67 D27 L16 F214 A81

As part of the Soviet Union, Russia helped win the inaugural competition in 1960. A side containing FC Dinamo Moskva goalkeeper Lev Yashin and FC Spartak Moskva's Igor Netto beat Yugoslavia 2-1 in the final; striker Viktor Ponedelnik scored the extra-time winner. The USSR were runners-up to Spain in 1964, lost the 1972 final to West Germany and suffered more showpiece woe in 1988 as a Ukrainian-accented team went down 2-0 to the Netherlands.

Since playing under the banner of the CIS in 1992, Russia have struggled to repeat past glories. They earned one win in nine finals games in 1992, 1996 and 2004 and failed to qualify in 2000, before a welcome return to form in Austria and Switzerland where they reached the semi-finals. UEFA EURO 2012 brought another group stage exit, despite opening with a 4-1 defeat of the Czech Republic and a 1-1 draw with co-hosts Poland. Needing just another draw, they lost 1-0 to Greece.

Memorable EURO matches
21/06/2008: Netherlands 1-3 Russia (aet), UEFA EURO 2008 quarter-finals
Andrey Arshavin inspired Hiddink's men to a shock victory over the fancied Oranje.

25/06/1988: Soviet Union 0-2 Netherlands, 1988 UEFA European Championship final
Marco van Basten's wonder goal and Igor Belanov's spot-kick failure proved key.

10/07/1960: Soviet Union 2-1 Yugoslavia (aet), 1960 UEFA European Championship final
Ponedelnik's 113th-minute strike in Paris captured the first EURO title.

Did you know?
Vladimir Beschastnykh is the current all-time top scorer for post-Soviet Russia on 26 goals, two ahead of Aleksandr Kerzhakov at the start of 2014.

*Last updated on 07/01/14

Last updated: 28/01/14 19.08CET

Club record in UEFA competitions

  • Biggest win:
    08/09/2015, Liechtenstein 0-7 Russia, Vaduz
    07/06/1995, San Marino 0-7 Russia, Serravalle
  • Biggest defeat:
    10/06/2008, Spain 4-1 Russia, Innsbruck
  • Appearances in UEFA European Football Championship: 15
  • Player with most appearances: 47
    Sergei Ignashevich (RUS)
  • Top scorers: 10
    Roman Pavlyuchenko (RUS)