The official website for European football

Skonto FC

Skonto FC
Skonto celebrate winning their 15th Latvian title in 2010 ©Roman Koksharov

Skonto FC

Formed: 1991
Nickname: none

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• None

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 15 (2010)
• Latvian Cup: 7 (2002)

• With Latvia's most successful team in the Soviet era, FK Daugava, already on the wane even before the collapse of the Soviet Union, Skonto stepped into the vacuum to become the pre-eminent force in the independent nation.

• Founded in 1991 by local businessman Guntis Indriksons and named after the firm he runs, Forums-Skonto FC won the inaugural Latvian title the same year under Marks Zahodins and retained the trophy the following season.

• Former Daugava striker Aleksandrs Starkovs then took over as the club's coach and led Skonto to 11 straight titles from that season onwards before joining FC Spartak Moskva in the wake of guiding Latvia to UEFA EURO 2004.

• Former assistant coach Jurijs Andrejevs led the club to a 14th successive title that year in Starkovs's absence but his successor Paul Ashworth never finished higher than second while the 2007 campaign ended with Skonto outside the top three for the first time; Starkovs' return in 2010, however, swiftly brought a 15th league crown.

• Success in the Virsliga has meant regular UEFA competition football, with the likes of FC Internazionale Milano and FC Barcelona visiting Riga; the club's most memorable European result remains a 0-0 UEFA Champions League third qualifying round draw at home against Chelsea FC in August 1999.

Club records
Most appearances: Mihails Zemļinskis (336)
Most goals: Mihails Miholaps (202)
Record victory: Skonto 17-0 FK Cesis (Latvian Cup, 17 April 1999)
Record defeat: FK Rabotnicki 6-0 Skonto FC (UEFA Champions League, 12 July 2005)

Last updated 31 December 2010

Last updated: 01/03/11 18.49CET

Club record in UEFA competitions