LASK - Manchester United: TV, Stream, Aufstellungen und Stimmen

LASK empfängt im Achtelfinal-Hinspiel der UEFA Europa League Manchester United – hier findet Ihr alles, was Ihr über dieses Spiel wissen müsst.

Der LASK feiert den Sieg gegen Alkmaar
Der LASK feiert den Sieg gegen Alkmaar Getty Images

Am 12. März gastiert Manchester United im Achtelfinale der UEFA Europa League in Österreich beim LASK. Anstoß ist um 18:55 Uhr MEZ. Auf dieser Seite findet Ihr bis dahin alles Wichtige über diese Partie sowie Stimen der Trainer und Experten-Analysen.

LASK - UNITED: Live-Updates

Wo kann ich LASK gegen ManUnited sehen?

Hier finden die Fans ihre lokalen Übertragungspartner der UEFA Europa League.

Die Mannschaften

LASK
UEFA-Position: 103
Platz in der heimischen Liga: 1
Wie kam der LASK so weit: Sieger der Gruppe D, 3:1 gegen AZ Alkmaar
Letzte Saison: Dritte Qualifikationsrunde (gegen Beşiktaş aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel ausgeschieden)
Bestes Abschneiden in UEFA-Pokal/Europa League: Runde der letzten 32 (1984/85, 1985/86)

Highlights: LASK 2-1 AZ Alkmaar
Highlights: LASK 2-1 AZ Alkmaar

Manchester United
UEFA-Position: 10
Platz in der heimischen Liga: 5
Wie kam United so weit: Sieger Gruppe L, 6:1 gegen Club Brugge
Letzte Saison: Viertelfinale der UEFA Champions League (0:4 gegen Barcelona)
Bestes Abschneiden in UEFA-Pokal/Europa League: Sieger (2016/17)

Mögliche Aufstellungen

LASK: Schlager - Ramsebner, Wostry, Trauner - Ranftl, Michorl, Holland, Renner - Tetteh, Raguz, Frieser
Es fehlen: Goiginger (Knie), Potzmann (Knie), Filipović (gesperrt), Wiesinger (gesperrt)
Bei der nächsten Gelben Karte gesperrt: Potzmann, Ranftl, Renner

United: Romero - Shaw, Lindelöf, Maguire - Dalot, McTominay, Fred, Williams - Bruno Fernandes - Greenwood, Ighalo
Es fehlen: Martial (Bein), Pogba (Sprunggelenk), Rashford (Rücken), Grant (nicht definiert)
Fraglich: James (nicht definiert), Wan-Bissaka (Rücken)

Highlights: Manchester United - Club Brugge 5:0
Highlights: Manchester United - Club Brugge 5:0

Sicht der Experten

Johannes Sturm, LASK-Reporter: "Natürlich sind die Rollen ganz klar verteilt. In neun von zehn Fällen werden die "Red Devils" ins Viertelfinale einziehen. Aber auch ein Topklub wie Manchester United muss erst einmal mit dem LASK, der bis in die Haarspitzen motiviert und gleichermaßen diszipliniert agieren wird, klarkommen. Ole Gunnar Solskjær sollte sich auf jeden Fall ein passendes Rezept für das aggressive Pressing der Linzer überlegen, sonst kann es auch hier eine Überraschung geben."

Was die Trainer sagen

Valérien Ismaël, LASK: "Gegen Manchester United zu spielen ist eine unglaubliche Geschichte für uns. Das ist die Belohnung für unsere Arbeit, das sind echte Highlights. Wir gehen aber nicht in die beiden Begegnungen, um nur Trikots zu tauschen, wir haben große Ambitionen. Wir werden voll auf das Spiel fokussiert sein. Natürlich tut es weh, ohne unsere Fans zu spielen, aber das darf uns nicht beeinflussen. Wir freuen uns auf dieses Spiel – und das lassen wir uns auch nicht nehmen."

LASK-Trainer Valérien Ismaël
LASK-Trainer Valérien IsmaëlGetty Images

Ole Gunnar Solskjær, ManUnited: "Ich habe den österreichischen Fußball ein wenig verfolgt, dort spielen einige Norweger. Sie haben dieses Jahr Rosenborg geschlagen, und natürlich Sporting, Bruno [Fernandes] hat also schon gegen sie gespielt. Er hat mir gesagt, dass sie sehr breit spielen und der Torhüter aktiv mitspielt, es wird also interessant werden."

Bisherige Begegnungen

• Der LASK hat im Europapokal noch nie gegen ein englisches Team gespielt.

• United ist in seinen acht Duellen mit Teams aus Österreich noch ungeschlagen (S7 U1) und kassierte auf österreichischem Boden noch nie ein Tor, obwohl man selber schon sieben Mal getroffen hat, zuletzt 2000 beim 2:0-Sieg bei Sturm Graz in der zweiten Gruppenphase der UEFA Champions League.

So siegte ManUnited 1996 in Österreich
So siegte ManUnited 1996 in Österreich

Formkurve

LASK
• Hinter Salzburg wurde der LASK letzte Saison Vizemeister in der österreichischen Bundesliga und nahm zudem zum ersten Mal seit 2000 an einem UEFA-Wettbewerb teil. Nach dem Sieg gegen Lillestrøm in der zweiten Qualifikationsrunde der UEFA Europa League schied man in der nächsten Runde aufgrund der Auswärtstorregel gegen Beşiktaş aus.

 Der LASK stieg in dieser Saison in der dritten Qualifikationsrunde zur UEFA Champions League in den Europapokal ein und feierte dort einen 5:2-Gesamtsieg gegen Basel (2:1 auswärts, 3:1 zu Hause). In den Play-offs gab es dann aber zwei Niederlagen gegen Club Brugge (0:1 zu Hause, 1:2 auswärts), damit ging es für die Linzer in der Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League weiter. Alle drei Heimspiele konnten hier gewonnen werden und am Ende reichte es vor Sporting, PSV und Rosenborg zum Gruppensieg.

• Der LASK ist nun erstmals in der K.-o.-Runde eines internationalen Wettbewerbs dabei. Die bisher besten Saisons verzeichnete der Klub 1984/85 und 1985/86, als man jeweils die zweite Runde des UEFA-Pokals erreichen konnte.

• Der LASK hat bei seinen beiden letzten Auftritten sieben seiner acht Heimspiele im Europapokal gewonnen und dabei 19 Tore erzielt. Die einzige Niederlage gab es in den Play-offs zur UEFA Champions League gegen Club Brugge.

Highlights: LASK - Sporting CP 3:0
Highlights: LASK - Sporting CP 3:0

Manchester United
• Der dreifache Europapokalsieger beendete die Saison 2018/19 in der Premier League auf Platz sechs und schaffte damit den Sprung in die UEFA Europa League. In der Saison zuvor erreichte United das Viertelfinale der UEFA Champions League, scheiterte dort aber deutlich an Barcelona (0:1 H, 0:3 A), nachdem man zuvor im Achtelfinale eine denkwürdige Aufholjagd gegen Paris Saint-Germain gezeigt hatte (0:2 H, 3:1 A).

• Die Auswärtsbilanz der Red Devils in 15 Spielen der UEFA Europa League: S5, U4, N6.

Endspiel-Highlights 2017: Manchester United - Ajax 2:0
Endspiel-Highlights 2017: Manchester United - Ajax 2:0

Verschiedenes 

• Manchester Uniteds Januar-Zugang Bruno Fernandes erzielte am 2. Spieltag, damals noch für Sporting, den 2:1-Siegtreffer gegen den LASK. Der Portugiese hat in dieser Saison bislang sechs Tore erzielt und führt die Torschützenliste dieses Wettbewerbs zusammen mit vier anderen Spielern an. Sein erstes Tor für United erzielte er beim 5:0 gegen Club Brugge per Elfmeter.

• LASKs französischer Trainer Valérien Ismaël spielte von Januar bis Oktober 1998 in England für Crystal Palace.

• James Holland (LASK) und Sergio Romero (Manchester United) spielten in der Saison 2009/10 gemeinsam für AZ, Holland bestritt allerdings kein Pflichtspiel für die Niederländer.

• LASK feierte als einer von sechs Klubs 2019/20 sein Debüt in der Gruppenphase der UEFA Europa League und steht als einer von zwei Debütanten - neben Wolverhampton Wanderers - im Achtelfinale.

• Manchester United ist im Achtelfinale - neben dem dreifachen Champion Sevilla - einer von zwei ehemaligen Gewinnern der UEFA Europa League.

Fünf Achtelfinal-Traumtore
Fünf Achtelfinal-Traumtore

Die Trainer

• Der frühere Innenverteidiger Valérien Ismaël begann seine Karriere bei seinem Heimatverein Strasbourg, später in seiner Karriere spielte der Franzose sehr erfolgreich in Deutschland: Er konnte sowohl mit Werder Bremen als auch mit Bayern München das Double gewinnen. Bei seinem letzten Verein Hannover unternahm er dann auch seine ersten Schritte als Trainer, er betreute die Reservemannschaft. Bei Wolfsburg bekleidete er eine ähnliche Rolle, zwischenzeitlich arbeitete er kurzzeitig als Cheftrainer bei Nürnberg. Nach einem kurzen Abschnitt als Cheftrainer bei Wolfsburg, von Oktober 2016 bis Februar 2017, trat er im Mai 2019 seinen neuen Posten in Österreich als Cheftrainer des LASK an.

• Seit seinem Siegtor in der Nachspielzeit des Endspiels der UEFA Champions League von 1999 gegen die Bayern genießt Ole Gunnar Solskjær bei den Fans von Manchester United Kultstatus. Im Dezember 2018 übernahm er den Klub nach dem Abschied von José Mourinho als Interimstrainer, im folgenden März wurde er als Chefcoach engagiert. Der ehemalige norwegische Nationalstürmer gewann in seiner aktiven Zeit im Old Trafford sechs Mal die Premier League, seine ersten Gehversuche als Trainer unternahm er in seiner Heimat Norwegen bei Molde.

Oben

LASK vs Manchester United Europa League preview: where to watch, team news

LASK host Manchester United in their UEFA Europa League round of 16 first leg – all you need to know.

United's Fred and Bruno Fernandes in training on Wednesday
United's Fred and Bruno Fernandes in training on Wednesday Manchester United via Getty Imag

Manchester United travel to Austrian side LASK in the UEFA Europa League round of 16 on 12 March at 18:55 CET. This page will update with team news, quotes and expert analysis as kick-off approaches.

LASK vs UNITED: LIVE BUILD-UP

Where to watch the game on TV

Fans can find their local UEFA Europa League broadcast partner(s) here.

The teams

LASK
UEFA ranking: 103
Domestic position: 1
How they got there: Group D winners, 3-1 AZ Alkmaar
Last season: third qualifying round (lost on away goals v Beşiktaş after 2-2 draw)
Previous UEFA Cup/Europa League best: round of 32 (1984/85, 1985/86)

Highlights: LASK 2-1 AZ Alkmaar
Highlights: LASK 2-1 AZ Alkmaar

Manchester United
UEFA ranking: 10
Domestic position: 5
How they got there: Group L winners, 6-1 Club Brugge
Last season: UEFA Champions League quarter-finals (lost 4-0 v Barcelona)
Previous UEFA Cup/Europa League best: winners (2016/17)

Possible line-ups

LASK: Schlager; Ramsebner, Wrosty, Trauner; Ranftl, Michorl, Holland, Renner; Tetteh, Raguz, Frieser
Out: Goiginger (knee), Potzmann (knee), Filipović (suspended), Wiesinger (suspended)
Misses next game if booked
: Potzmann, Ranftl, Renner

United: Romero; Shaw, Lindelöf, Maguire; Dalot, McTominay, Fred, Williams; Bruno Fernandes; Greenwood, Ighalo
Out: Martial (leg), Pogba (ankle), Rashford (back), Grant (unspecified)
Doubtful: James (unspecified), Wan-Bissaka (back)

Highlights: Manchester United 5-0 Club Brugge
Highlights: Manchester United 5-0 Club Brugge

Expert prediction

Jordan Maciel, LASK reporter: A gargantuan task against one of the world's most famous teams awaits LASK in what may be the biggest night in the club’s history. The Linz side could not be in better form; top of the Austrian table, they are on course for a first league title since 1964/65, and have won all four of their UEFA Europa League home matches this season. They will be confident that they can make it to Old Trafford with a fighting chance.

Matthew Howarth, United reporter: United produced arguably their best performance of the season so far in the round of 32 second leg against Club Brugge, who beat LASK in the UEFA Champions League play-offs earlier this term. United will be well aware of LASK's form, but Ole Gunnar Solskjær’s side travel to Austria with the wind in their sails, and will be confident of building a solid platform for the return leg at Old Trafford.

What the coaches say

Valérien Ismaël, LASK coach: "For us it is a unbelievable story: to play against Manchester United. That’s the reward for our work, a real highlight. But we are not playing these two matches just for the chance to swap shirts. We have high ambitions. We will be fully focused. Of course it hurts playing without our fans behind us, but we cannot allow that to affect us. We are looking forward to the game."

LASK coach Valérien Ismaël
LASK coach Valérien IsmaëlGetty Images

Ole Gunnar Solskjær, United manager: "I've followed Austrian football a little bit and there have been quite a few Norwegians playing there. They've beaten Rosenborg this year, in the group stages and of course Sporting, so Bruno [Fernandes] has been involved against them. Bruno told me they do play expansive football, the goalkeeper joins in a lot with the play, so it'll be interesting."

Previous meetings

• LASK have never previously faced an English club in UEFA competition.

• United are undefeated in their eight previous matches against Austrian clubs (W7 D1) and have yet to concede a goal on Austrian soil, where they have scored seven times themselves, the most recent visit yielding a 2-0 win against Sturm Graz in the second group stage of the 2000/01 UEFA Champions League.

Recall Man. United win in Austria in 1996
Recall Man. United win in Austria in 1996

Form guide

LASK
• Runners-up to Salzburg in the Austrian Bundesliga last season, LASK also took part in UEFA competition for the first time since 2000 but were eliminated on away goals by Beşiktaş in the UEFA Europa League third qualifying round.

• LASK began this season's European journey in the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round, where they beat Basel (2-1 a, 3-1 h) before losing to Club Brugge (0-1 h, 1-2 a). That meant a first ever participation in the UEFA Europa League group stage, where they thrived, winning all three home games, registering 13 points and topping a group containing three European stalwarts in Sporting CP, PSV Eindhoven and Rosenborg.

• This is LASK's first taste of springtime European football. Their previous best seasons in continental competition were 1984/85 and 1985/86, when they reached the second round of the UEFA Cup.

• LASK have won seven of their eight European home games over the past two seasons, scoring 19 goals in the process, the sole defeat coming in that UEFA Champions League play-off tie against Club Brugge.

Highlights: LASK 3-0 Sporting CP
Highlights: LASK 3-0 Sporting CP

Manchester United
• The three-time champions of Europe finished sixth in the 2018/19 Premier League, which meant direct access to the UEFA Europa League. They were quarter-finalists in last season's UEFA Champions League, going out to Barcelona (0-1 h, 0-3 a) after a remarkable round of 16 second-leg comeback against Paris Saint-Germain (0-2 h, 3-1 a).

• United kept clean sheets in their first four UEFA Europa League group fixtures this term, securing qualification with two games to spare after doing the double over Partizan (1-0 a, 3-0 h). Although they lost 2-1 at Astana, ending the club's 15-match unbeaten run in the competition, United signed off in style with a 4-0 home win against AZ that secured top spot in Group L. At the time that was the club's joint biggest victory in the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League, but they trumped that in the round of 32 second leg with their 5-0 defeat of Club Brugge.

• The Manchester giants have appeared in the Europa League round of 16 three times previously but have only won one of those ties, against Rostov (1-1 a, 1-0 h) in 2016/17 en route to lifting the trophy. The two defeats came before that, against Athletic Club (2-3 h, 1-2 a) in 2011/12 and domestic arch rivals Liverpool (0-2 a, 1-1 h) in 2015/16.

• The Red Devils' away record in 15 UEFA Europa League fixtures is W5 D4 L6, the loss at Astana ending a seven-game undefeated run on their travels (W4 D3). Since that memorable win in Paris last spring United's European away record is W1 D2 L2, with just three goals scored in those five games.

2017 final highlights: Manchester United 2-0 Ajax
2017 final highlights: Manchester United 2-0 Ajax

Links and trivia 

• Manchester United's January signing Bruno Fernandes scored the winning goal for Sporting in their 2-1 victory against LASK on Matchday 2. The Portuguese international is the joint leading scorer in this season's UEFA Europa League, group stage to final, with six goals, including one for United, a penalty, that opened the scoring in the 5-0 win against Club Brugge.

• LASK's French coach Valérien Ismaël played in England from January to October 1998 with Crystal Palace, having joined the London club from Strasbourg for a record fee.

• James Holland (LASK) and Sergio Romero (Manchester United) were at AZ together in 2009/10, though the former played no competitive matches for the club.

• LASK were one of six clubs to make their UEFA Europa League group stage debut in 2019/20, and are one of just two, along with Wolverhampton Wanderers, to have made it through to the round of 16.

• Manchester United are one of two former UEFA Europa League winners in this season's round of 16, along with three-time champions Sevilla.

Five stunning round of 16 goals
Five stunning round of 16 goals

The coaches

• A former central defender who started out with home-town club Strasbourg, Ismaël spent the latter part of his career in Germany, winning the domestic double with both Werder Bremen and Bayern München. His final club, Hannover, gave the Frenchman his first coaching opportunity in charge of the reserves, and he occupied a similar role at Wolfsburg, which was punctuated by a brief spell as head coach at Nürnberg. After another short stint as the main man at Wolfsburg, from October 2016 to February 2017, he resurfaced in Austria as the new boss of LASK in May 2019.

• A former Old Trafford favourite, whose legendary status at the club was confirmed with his added-time winner in the 1999 UEFA Champions League final against Bayern München, Ole Gunnar Solskjær returned to Manchester United as interim manager in December 2018, replacing José Mourinho, before securing the position on a permanent basis the following March. A former Norwegian international striker renowned for his predatory goalscoring, he won six Premier League titles as a United player and established his reputation as a coach in his homeland with Molde.

Top