UEFA Europa League by numbers

From Rafael Benítez's record-breaking triumph to a long-awaited win for A. Académica de Coimbra and Edinson Cavani's scoring exploits, UEFA.com has the numbers that matter.

UEFA Europa League by numbers ©Sportsfile

UEFA.com brings you the key numbers from this season's UEFA Europa League after Chelsea FC triumphed in Amsterdam, becoming the first team to hold both of UEFA's major club trophies at the same time.

Rafael Benítez is just the fourth coach to win the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League twice, and the second to do it with different clubs following his 2004 success with Valencia CF. The Chelsea manager joins fellow Spaniards Juande Ramos (Sevilla FC 2006, 2007) and Luis Molowny (Real Madrid CF 1985, 1986) as two-time winners, as well as Italy's Giovanni Trapattoni (Juventus 1977, 1993, FC Internazionale Milano 1991), the only coach to lift the trophy three times.

After three seasons without one, the UEFA Europa League had its first penalty shoot-out as FC Steaua Bucureşti became just the second team to recover a two-goal first-leg deficit to advance in the competition. AFC Ajax were their round of 32 victims, going down 4-2 on spot kicks. There was soon a second shoot-out as FC Basel 1893 prevailed 4-1 against Tottenham Hotspur FC in the quarter-finals.

Victory in the Netherlands made Chelsea the fourth side to win all three UEFA club competitions following their past successes in the European Cup Winners' Cup (1971, 1998) and UEFA Champions League (2012). They join Juventus, FC Bayern München and Ajax, who had all previously collected the three trophies.

Edinson Cavani scored all four goals in SSC Napoli's 4-2 home win against FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk on matchday four – an exploit achieved just once before in the UEFA Europa League, by Falcao for FC Porto against Villarreal CF in the 2010/11 semi-finals. It was one of six hat-tricks in this season's competition.

Czech striker Libor Kozák scored eight times in S.S. Lazio's run to the quarter-finals to finish as the tournament's leading marksman. Remarkably, going into the final weekend of fixtures in Serie A, he has not found the net once in the Italian top flight all season.

BSC Young Boys became the first team in UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League history to pick up as many points as their group winners and still fail to qualify for the last 32 – losing out on head-to-head record in a three-way tussle with Liverpool FC and FC Anji Makhachkala. Their ten-point haul in Group A bettered that of five sides who advanced from other sections.

Benfica forward Eduardo Salvio has played in more UEFA Europa League matches than any other player (34), but missed out on becoming the first player to win the competition three times, having triumphed twice before with Club Atlético de Madrid. Seven other players have also won it twice, though only one with different clubs – Falcao (Porto and Atlético).

At 37 years and 214 days, Pavel Horváth of FC Viktoria Plzeň extended his own record as the UEFA Europa League's oldest goalscorer with his matchday five penalty against A. Académica de Coimbra.

On matchday five, FC Twente's Sander Boschker, aged 42 years and 33 days, replaced David Weir as the oldest player to appear in the UEFA Europa League.

Académica had not won a European game in 43 years, since 1969, before their shock 2-0 success at home to Atlético, in the process ending the holders' 16-match winning run in UEFA competition.

The final at the Amsterdam ArenA was Chelsea's 69th game in all competitions this term and their 16th in Europe of a campaign that started with defeat by Atlético in the UEFA Super Cup in August. Six UEFA Champions League fixtures later, their defence of the trophy had been ended, but Benítez's men made light of losing two of their first eight UEFA Europa League outings with victory when it mattered most.

Cavani's late winner for Napoli at AIK on matchday five was the UEFA Europa League's 2,000th goal.