Benítez enters pantheon of multiple winners

Rafael Benítez has become only the fourth coach to win the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League more than once following Chelsea FC's dramatic victory in Amsterdam.

Chelsea FC's win tonight means that Rafael Benítez has become only the fourth coach to lift the UEFA Cup or UEFA Europa League on more than one occasion.

Benítez first picked up the trophy under the guise of the UEFA Cup in 2004 when he led Valencia CF to victory against Olympique de Marseille. Nine years later – and with a UEFA Champions League title now on his CV – he has repeated the feat following Chelsea's 2-1 success over SL Benfica at the Amsterdam ArenA.

He has done so at a club where he was installed earlier this season after the departure of Roberto Di Matteo. examines the other three men – whose number includes two Spaniards – to have guided a team to glory more than once in this competition.

Giovanni Trapattoni (1977, 1991, 1993) 
The only three-time winner delivered Juventus's first European trophy after the Bianconeri held off a ferocious fightback from Athletic Club that Trapattoni himself described as "hard to resist". He then steered FC Internazionale Milano to their maiden UEFA Cup triumph of 1991 – against fellow Italian side AS Roma – before returning to Juve. A further taste of glory came two years later after Dino and Roberto Baggio scored five goals between them over two legs to inspire a 6-1 aggregate victory over Borussia Dortmund.

Luis Molowny (1985, 1986)
It was during his fourth and final spell as Real Madrid CF coach that Molowny made his mark on Europe though he had only been in charge a matter of weeks in the spring of 1985 when the Merengues took on Videoton FC. A 3-0 first-leg away win all but confirmed the Hungarian outfit's fate, and the man from the Canary Islands returned 12 months later as Madrid again did the business in the opener, defeating 1. FC Köln 5-1.

Juande Ramos (2006, 2007)
Twenty-one years later, another Spaniard mirrored Molowny's achievement as Ramos directed Sevilla FC to back-to-back UEFA Cup titles. The first came in emphatic fashion as they swept aside Middlesbrough FC 4-0 in Eindhoven before a far tighter affair against fellow Liga club RCD Espanyol. Ramos's men were held to a 2-2 draw in a gripping Glasgow encounter before prevailing 3-1 on penalties.