Rapid start for Sporting

Sporting Clube de Portugal will face SK Rapid Wien in the first round of this season's UEFA Cup.

Iberian derby
Sporting, who lifted the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup in 1963/64, were joined in the draw by their city rivals SL Benfica, one of 16 teams involved after losing in the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League. The two-time European champions will play Slovakian side FK Dukla Banská Bystrica, while fellow Portuguese challengers CS Marítimo face a difficult tie against Rangers FC, CD National take on Sevilla FC in an Iberian derby, and SC Braga meet Heart of Midlothian FC from the Scottish capital.

European champions
Feyenoord, the only club in the draw to have been the champions of Europe and won the UEFA Cup, will tackle Odd Grenland, while the two remaining European Champion Clubs' Cup winners, FK Crvena Zvezda and FC Steaua Bucuresti, are respectively pitted against Russian high-flyers FC Zenit St. Peterburg and PFC CSKA Sofia.

Intertoto winners
Shelbourne FC, who gave RC Deportivo La Coruña a scare in Champions League qualifying, come up against Lille OSC, one of three UEFA Intertoto Cup winners among the 80 teams in the hat. The others, FC Schalke 04 and Villarreal CF, face ties against Latvia's FHK Liepajas Metalurgs and Hammarby.

Top seeds
The top seeds, S.S. Lazio, will play FC Metalurh Donetsk of Ukraine. Another club from Serie A, Parma FC, confront Slovenian champions NK Maribor, Udinese Calcio were drawn against Panionios NFC and Spanish Cup winners Real Zaragoza play SK Sigma Olomouc of the Czech Republic.

Tough for Newcastle
Israeli Cup winners Hapoel Bnei Sakhnin FC, the first Arab team to participate in European competition, are rewarded with a tie against a Newcastle United FC side featuring the likes of Alan Shearer and Patrick Kluivert. England's FA Cup runners-up, Millwall FC, have a difficult introduction to UEFA Cup football against Ferencvárosi TC. The Hungarian club won the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1968, a season before Newcastle. English League Cup winners Middlesbrough FC tackle Czech champions FC Baník Ostrava.

Match dates
Other intriguing ties include Trabzonspor against Athletic Club Bilbao, FK Partizan versus FC Dinamo Bucuresti, R. Standard de Liège against VfL Bochum 1848, and French second division side LB Châteauroux against seasoned campaigners Club Brugge KV. Any tie reversals or changes of date will be announced this afternoon. Matches in the first round are due to be played on 16 and 30 September, unless otherwise stated.

UEFA Cup first round
Team named first play at home in first leg
First leg: 16 September. Second leg: 30 September
*Matches reversed
**Second leg will be played on 22 September

1. Grazer AK v PFC Litex Lovech
2. S.S. Lazio v FC Metalurh Donetsk*
3. FK Bodø/Glimt v Besiktas JK
4. Shelbourne FC v Lille OSC
5. Heart of Midlothian FC v SC Braga
6. FK Austria Wien v Legia Warszawa
7. FK Dukla Banksá Bystrica v SL Benfica
8. FK Partizan v FC Dinamo Bucuresti
9. Parma FC v NK Maribor
10. Real Zaragoza v SK Sigma Olomouc
11. Sporting Clube de Portugal v SK Rapid Wien
12. Newcastle United FC v Hapoel Bnei Sakhnin FC
13. FC Steaua Bucuresti v PFC CSKA Sofia
14. Wisla Kraków v FC Dinamo Tbilisi
15. FC Utrecht v Djurgårdens IF
16. Millwall FC v Ferencvárosi TC
17. FC Schalke 04 v FHK Liepajas Metalurgs
18. Maccabi Haifa FC v FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
19. FC Terek Grozny v FC Basel 1893
20. Odd Grenland v Feyenoord
21. Aalborg BK v AJ Auxerre
22. Sevilla FC v CD Nacional
23. NK Gorica v AEK Athens FC
24. R. Standard de Liège v VfL Bochum 1848
25. FK Crvena Zvezda v FC Zenit St. Peterburg*
26. Trabzonspor v Athletic Club Bilbao
27. Újpesti TE v VfB Stuttgart
28. Maccabi Petach-Tikva FC v SC Heerenveen**
29. Panionios NFC v Udinese Calcio
30. PFC Levski Sofia v KSK Beveren
31. NK Dinamo Zagreb v IF Elfsborg
32. FH Hafnarfjördur v TSV Alemannia Aachen
33. Middlesbrough FC v FC Baník Ostrava
34. Club Brugge KV v LB Châteauroux
35. PAOK FC v AZ Alkmaar
36. FK Ventspils v KS Amica Wronki
37. FC Sochaux-Montbéliard v Stabæk IF
38. Egaleo FC v Gençlerbirligi SK
39. Rangers FC v CS Marítimo*
40. Villarreal CF v Hammarby*