Tough tests await Spanish sides

Spanish clubs Sevilla FC and CA Osasuna face tricky ties against 1. FSV Mainz and Stade Rennais FC in the UEFA Cup first round following today's draw in Monaco.

Holders begin defence
Eighty teams from 30 nations will compete for 40 places in the group stage when the ties are played on 15 and 29 September. The third Primera División side, RCD Espanyol, are up against Czech club FK Teplice, holders PFC CSKA Moskva take on FC Midtjylland of Denmark, while losing finalists Sporting Clube de Portugal encounter Sweden's Halmstads BK in the first step on the road to the final in Eindhoven on 10 May.

Intertoto trio
Four former European champions are in the first round. FK Crvena Zvezda of Belgrade play SC Braga from Portugal, FC Steaua Bucuresti meet Norway's Vålerenga IF, while KFC Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen are the opponents for Olympique de Marseille, and Hamburger SV tackle FC København. French team RC Lens, who like Hamburg and Marseille came through the UEFA Intertoto Cup, face Polish representatives Groclin Grodzisk Wielkopolski.

Former winners
Other stand-out ties include AS Monaco FC, one of 16 refugees from the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round, playing Dutch outfit Willem II, 2000 victors Galatasaray SK against Norwegians Tromsø IL, and 2002 winners Feyenoord versus AFC Rapid Bucuresti. English side Bolton Wanderers FC make their European debut against PFC Lokomotiv Plovdiv 1936 of Bulgaria, Everton FC end a 26-season exile from the competition against FC Dinamo Bucuresti, and AS Roma meet Greek second division team Aris Thessaloniki FC.

Group stage
Two of the three Fair Play entrants - Germany's Mainz and Viking FK of Norway - are involved, playing Sevilla and FK Austria Wien respectively. The sides that emerge victorious from the two-legged ties will then be split into eight pools of five, with the first of five group-stage Matchdays on 20 October.

UEFA Cup first round
Team named first play at home in first leg
First leg: 15 September
Second leg: 29 September

1. AJ Auxerre (FRA) v PFC Levski Sofia (BUL)
2. Hamburger SV (GER) v FC København (DEN)
3. SK Slavia Praha (CZE) v Cork City FC (IRL)
4. PAOK FC (GRE) v FC Metalurh Donetsk (UKR)*
5. FC Dinamo Bucuresti (ROU) v Everton FC (ENG)
6. Grasshopper-Club (SUI) v Myllykosken Pallo-47 (FIN)*
7. FK Crvena Zvezda (SCG) v SC Braga (POR)
8. KFC Germinal Beerschot Antwerpen (BEL) v Olympique de Marseille (FRA)
9. Bayer 04 Leverkusen (GER) v PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)
10. PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS) v FC Midtjylland (DEN)
11. Vitória FC (POR) v UC Sampdoria (ITA)
12. Sevilla FC (ESP) v 1. FSV Mainz 05 (GER)
13. FC Basel 1893 (SUI) v NK Široki Brijeg (BIH)
14. Feyenoord (NED) v AFC Rapid Bucuresti (ROU)
15. Hibernian FC (SCO) v FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR)
16. Stade Rennais FC (FRA) v CA Osasuna (ESP)
17. Vitória SC (POR) v Wisla Kraków (POL)
18. FC Krylya Sovetov Samara (RUS) v AZ Alkmaar (NED)
19. VfB Stuttgart (GER) v NK Domžale (SLO)
20. Vålerenga IF (NOR) v FC Steaua Bucuresti (ROU)
21. Grazer AK (AUT) v RC Strasbourg (FRA)
22. SK Brann (NOR) v FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS)*
23. US Città di Palermo (ITA) v Anorthosis Famagusta FC (CYP)
24. Halmstads BK (SWE) v Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
25. Middlesbrough FC (ENG) v Xanthi FC (GRE)
26. Maccabi Petach-Tikva FC (ISR) v FK Partizan (SCG)
27. AS Roma (ITA) v Aris Thessaloniki FC (GRE)*
28. Beşiktaş JK (TUR) v Malmö FF (SWE)
29. PFC Litex Lovech (BUL) v KRC Genk (BEL)
30. FC Baník Ostrava (CZE) v SC Heerenveen (NED)
31. APOEL FC (CYP) v Hertha BSC Berlin (GER)*
32. FK Teplice (CZE) v RCD Espanyol (ESP)
33. AS Monaco FC (FRA) v Willem II (NED)
34. Viking FK (NOR) v FK Austria Wien (AUT)
35. Brøndby IF (DEN) v FC Zürich (SUI)
36. RC Lens (FRA) v Groclin Grodzisk Wielkopolski (POL)
37. Tromsø IL (NOR) v Galatasaray SK (TUR)
38. Bolton Wanderers FC (ENG) v PFC Lokomotiv Plovdiv 1936 (BUL)
39. FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) v Debreceni VSC (HUN)
40. FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS) v AEK Athens FC (GRE)

*Match reversed from draw