Club Football Awards nominees named

There are 12 names on the shortlist for UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2009 with the winners of both the overall and the positional awards to be announced in Monaco on Thursday 27 August.

The UEFA Club Football Awards take place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco
©Getty Images

UEFA has announced the nominees for the UEFA Club Football Awards to be presented during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on Thursday 27 August from 17.45CET.

Votes cast
The voting procedure gives the coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knockout phase of the 2008/09 UEFA Champions League the possibility to cast their votes for each position as well as to nominate the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2009 of their choice.

Based on the voting results, the list of nominees is as follows:

  • UEFA Club Goalkeeper of the Year
  • Petr Čech (Chelsea FC)
    Víctor Valdés (FC Barcelona)
    Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United FC)

  • UEFA Club Defender of the Year
  • Gerard Piqué (FC Barcelona)
    John Terry (Chelsea FC)
    Nemanja Vidić (Manchester United FC)

  • UEFA Club Midfielder of the Year
  • Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC)
    Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona)
    Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona)

  • UEFA Club Forward of the Year
  • Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona)
    Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)
    Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United FC)