UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-17 EURO finals line-up: draw 5 April

Holders Spain are among the 15 teams that came through the elite round to join hosts England in May's finals.

Action from holders Spain's win against the Czech Republic
Action from holders Spain's win against the Czech Republic ©Jan Tauber

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship finals line-up has been decided after the completion of the elite round.

  • The draw will be at 18:30CET on 5 April at St George's Park, Burton-upon-Trent.
  • The finals in England will be from 4 to 20 May.

Qualified teams
Group 1:
Serbia, Spain (holders)
Group 2:
Sweden, Belgium
Group 3:
Republic of Ireland
Group 4:
Switzerland, Portugal
Group 5:
Netherlands, Italy
Group 6:
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark
Group 7:
Slovenia, Israel
Group 8:
Norway, Germany
Hosts: England

  • The eight elite round group winners and the seven runners-up with the best records against the teams first and third in their section will join England in the finals. Group 3 runners-up Georgia miss out.
  • Spain, who beat England in last year's final in Croatia, are aiming to add to their record three U17 titles, or nine counting the pre-2001/02 U16 event.
  • Germany, the Netherlands and Portugal are two-time U17 champions, Switzerland have also lifted the trophy.
  • Slovenia have only ever previously qualified as hosts.

How the draw works

• Hosts England are placed in position 1 of Group A. The seven best elite round section winners are in Pot 1 and drawn to fill the remaining positions 1 and 2 in the four finals groups. The remaining teams (the other elite round group winners and the seven best runners-up) are in Pot 2 and fill positions 3 and 4.

Pot 1: Republic of Ireland, Netherlands, Serbia, Norway, Slovenia, Switzerland, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Pot 2: Sweden, Germany, Portugal, Denmark, Italy, Israel, Spain, Belgium

• The top two in each group progress to the quarter-finals.

Group stage: 4/5, 7/8, 10/11 May
Quarter-finals: 13/14 May
Semi-finals: 17 May
Final: 20 May

Knockout system
Quarter-final 1: Winner Group A v Runner-up Group B
Quarter-final 2: Winner Group B v Runner-up Group A
Quarter-final 3: Winner Group C v Runner-up Group D
Quarter-final 4: Winner Group D v Runner-up Group C

Semi-final 1: Winner quarter-final 1 v Winner quarter-final 3
Semi-final 2: Winner quarter-final 2 v Winner quarter-final 4

Final: Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2

Selected for you