Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

U17 EURO qualifying: Road to England

The road to the UEFA European Under-17 Championship in England next May begins with the qualifying round: see how the 54 hopefuls will compete for the 15 berths alongside the hosts.

U17 EURO qualifying: Road to England
U17 EURO qualifying: Road to England ©Sportsfile

The road to the UEFA European Under-17 Championship in England next May begins on Wednesday when the qualifying round kicks off in Finland.

How the competition works

  • Of the 55 contenders, all teams including debutants Kosovo are involved in the qualifying round except top seeds Germany and Portugal, given a bye to the elite round, and hosts England, who are excused until the finals.
  • The 52 teams are split into 13 groups, all played as one-venue mini-tournaments to be completed by 30 October.
  • The top two in each group and the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their section accompany Germany and Portugal into the 32-team elite round. Fifteen nations will eventually qualify for the finals to join England.

Qualifying round groups

Group 1 (26 October–1 November):
Belgium, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Malta*

Watch how Spain won the 2017 title
Watch how Spain won the 2017 title

Group 2 (19–25 October): Spain (holders), Croatia, Albania*, Liechtenstein

Group 3 (13–19 October): Czech Republic*, Turkey, Israel, Armenia

Group 4 (27 September–3 October): Russia, Iceland, Finland*, Faroe Islands

Group 5 (18–24 October): Serbia*, Greece, Norway, Gibraltar

Group 6 (19–25 October): France, Slovenia, Belarus*, Kazakhstan

Group 7 (22–28 October): Scotland, Denmark, Estonia*, Andorra

Group 8 (2–8 October): Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Moldova, FYR Macedonia*

Group 9 (10–16 October): Netherlands, Wales, Hungary*, Kosovo

Group 10 (23–29 October): Austria, Romania*, Lithuania, Luxembourg

Group 11 (10–16 October): Republic of Ireland, Ukraine, Bulgaria*, Azerbaijan

Group 12 (17–23 October): Poland, Sweden, Cyprus*, San Marino

Group 13 (24–30 October): Italy, Georgia*, Latvia, Montenegro


Bye to elite round: Germany, Portugal

Bye to final tournament: England (hosts)

The dates

Elite round draw (Nyon): 6 December 2017
Elite round: spring 2018
Finals draw (England): April 2018
Final tournament (England): 4–20 May 2018