UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Under-17 EURO elite round: See who has qualified

The elite round concluded on Tuesday.

Ukraine are into the finals in Cyprus
Ukraine are into the finals in Cyprus LFV/Peter Rinderer

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship elite round concluded on Tuesday, deciding the 15 teams joining hosts Cyprus in the finals from 20 May to 5 June.

The top-seeded Netherlands, who enter directly at this stage, were joined by the 31 teams that came through the qualifying round. The eight elite round group winners and seven runners-up with the best records qualify for the last 16-team final tournament before the switch to a new format in 2024/25.

Austria, Denmark, France, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Ukraine were the eight group winners while the seven best runners-up were (in order of record) Spain, England, Serbia, Czechia, Wales, Slovakia and Croatia, with Belgium missing out.

Qualified for finals

Austria, Croatia, Cyprus (hosts), Czechia, Denmark, England. France, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, Wales


Elite round groups

Group 1
Qualified for finals: France, England (hosts)
Also in group: Northern Ireland, Hungary

Group 2
Qualified for finals: Sweden, Wales
Also in group: Romania (hosts), Bulgaria

Group 3
Qualified for finals: Italy
Also in group: Belgium, Finland (hosts), Netherlands

Group 4
Qualified for finals: Ukraine, Slovakia
Also in group: Switzerland, Greece (hosts)

Group 5
Qualified for finals: Portugal (hosts), Croatia
Also in group: Germany (holders), Republic of Ireland

Group 6
Qualified for finals: Denmark, Serbia
Also in group: Georgia (hosts), Türkiye

Group 7 
Qualified for finals: Austria (hosts), Spain
Also in group: Norway, Slovenia

Group 8
Qualified for finals: Poland, Czechia
Also in group: Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina (hosts)

2023 Under-17 EURO final penalty shoot-out

Team guide

  • Germany were the defending champions after beating France last June in Hungary to win their second U17 title since the switch to the current classification in 2001/02.
  • Former U17 champions to qualify are France (3 titles), Spain (3), Portugal (2) and England (1).
  • England and Spain have reached a record 16th U17 final tournament.
New format from 2024/25