The official website for European football

Lazur stadium, Burgas

Lazur stadium, Burgas
Lazur stadium, home of Chernomorets Burgas ©BFS

Lazur stadium, Burgas

Capacity: 16,703
Opened: 1967

• The venue for the U17 final, Lazur stadium was completely redeveloped in the 1990s and further updated in 2009.

• PFC Chernomorets Burgas are based at the Lazur stadium, which has also staged Bulgarian internationals and UEFA Europa League ties for PFC Cherno More Varna and PFC Botev Plovdiv.

• The second-largest Bulgarian city on the Black Sea, Burgas is close to resorts including Sunny Beach.

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.