The official website for European football

Television schedule

Eurosport plans to screen the majority of the 32 fixtures.
Television schedule
Italy's Moise Kean celebrates after scoring against Croatia ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament. The format changed for 2014/15 with the expansion of the final tournament from eight to 16 teams.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four countries playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each pool progress alongside the four third-placed sides with the best record against the leading pair in their groups.

Elite round
In the elite round, held in early spring, those 30 qualifiers plus the top two seeds – given a bye this far – compete in eight mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and seven runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section advance to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
In the final tournament the contenders are split into four groups of four, with the front two from each proceeding to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.


Television schedule

Eurosport plans to screen the majority of the 32 fixtures.

All KO times CET
*Live on Eurosport
**Live on Eurosport 2

  • Group stage

Wednesday 3 May
Rijeka: Turkey v Spain (A, 13:15) & Croatia v Italy* (A, 17:45)
Lucko: Scotland v Faroe Islands (B, 12:00)
Velika Gorica: Hungary v France* (B, 14:00)

Thursday 4 May
Kostrena: Germany v Bosnia and Herzegovina* (C, 12:00) & Serbia v Republic of Ireland (C, 16:30)
Sesvete: Netherlands v Ukraine (D, 12:00)
Velika Gorica: Norway v England* (D, 14:00)

Saturday 6 May
Rijeka: Croatia v Turkey** (A, 13:15) & Spain v Italy* (A, 17:45)
Zapresic: France v Faroe Islands** (B, 12:00)
Lucko: Scotland v Hungary (B, 16:00)

Sunday 7 May
Kostrena: Germany v Serbia* (C, 12:00) & Republic of Ireland v Bosnia and Herzegovina (16:30)
Sesvete: England v Ukraine (D, 14:00)
Velika Gorica: Netherlands v Norway (D, 17:45)

Tuesday 9 May
Rijeka: Italy v Turkey (A, 12:00)
Kostrena: Spain v Croatia (A, 12:00)
Velika Gorica: France v Scotland** (B, 16:00)
Lucko: Faroe Islands v Hungary (B, 16:00)

Wednesday 10 May
Rijeka: Republic of Ireland v Germany* (C, 12:00)
Kostrena: Bosnia and Herzegovina v Serbia (C, 12:00)
Zapresic: England v Netherlands (D, 16:00)
Sesvete: Ukraine v Norway (D, 16:00)

  • Knockout phase: stadium allocations to be made after end of previous round

Friday 12 May
1 Winner Group A v Runner-up Group B
2 Winner Group B v Runner-up Group A
Venues to be allocated
Velika Gorica (12:00)
Varazdin* (17:45)

Saturday 13 May
1 Winner Group C v Runner-up Group D
2 Winner Group D v Runner-up Group C
Venues to be allocated
Velika Gorica (12:00)
Zapresic* (17:45)

Tuesday 16 May
FIFA U-17 World Cup play-off
Sesvede (12:00)

1 Winner QF1 v Winner QF3
2 Winner QF2 v Winner QF4
Venues to be allocated
Zapresic* (17:45)
Varazdin* (20:30)

Friday 19 May
Varazdin: Winner SF1 v Winner SF2* (2000)

Last updated: 05/05/17 17.56CET